The Committee Structure

The University has introduced a new decision-making structure, which came into effect on 1 February 2011. View the University Governance Structure.

Within the new structure committees are retained in those areas where there is a statutory, regulatory or good practice requirement for collective accountability and decision making, as follows:

Committees of Council Committees of Senate

Standing Committee of Council

University Programme Committee

Nominations Committee

External Research Degree Committee

Senior Salaries Committee

Military Education Committee

Audit Committee

Senate Appeals Committee

Health and Safety Audit and Assurance

Student Discipline Committee

Safety and Occupational Health Committee

Consultative Committee for Safety and Occupational Health

Genetic Modification and Biosafety Committee

University Ethics Committee

Terms of reference for these committees may be reviewed here.

Committees of Council

Committees of Senate

In all other areas members of the senior executive have been given decision-making authority, and are responsible for the development of policy, its implementation and delivery in the areas of their portfolios, supported by Advisory Groups. Advisory groups have no decision making or reporting role but perform a support/consultative function to the designated decision-maker.

View a list of advisory groups currently in operation.

Limits to decision-making are defined in Statements of Primary Responsibilities for Council and for Senate.

Individual lay members of Council are designated as having particular involvement with a specific strategic area, and as such will be involved in discussions about major developments and decisions.

Associated documentation may be found below:
Statement of Council’s Primary Responsibilities and delegated and related matters
Statement of Senate's Primary Responsibilities and delegated and related matters 2011-12
For further information please contact