Contact Research and Innovation Services

The R&IS structure reflects the University Faculties, providing you with a single point of contact. Please choose one of our specialists from the list below.

Management team

Director of Research and Innovation Services: Don Spalinger
Email: d.spalinger@southampton.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)23 8059 4686

Director of Corporate Relations: Don Spalinger
Email: d.spalinger@southampton.ac.uk
Telephone: +44(0)23 8059 4686

Head of Faculty Support: Hilary Smith
Email: h.e.smith@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 4136

Head of Specialist Support: Mylene Ployaert
Email: mgsp@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 4680

Lead, Spin-outs and Incubation: David Bream
Email: David.Bream@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)7545 423 694

Sector Lead, Health and Pharma: Karl Simpson
Email: j.k.simpson@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 3895

Senior Legal Advisor: Diana Galpin
Email: d.galpin@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)238059 8673

Faculty-based Business Development Staff

Faculty of Business and Law: Nikki Matthews
Email: n.s.matthews@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8340

Faculty of Engineering and the Environment: Tom Carr
Email: t.j.carr@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8675

Faculty of Health Sciences: Dr James Hamilton
Email: j.c.hamilton@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 9348

Faculty of Humanities: Nikki Matthews
Email: n.s.matthews@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8340

Faculty of Medicine: Dr James Hamilton
Email: j.c.hamilton@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 9348

Faculty of Natural and Environmental Sciences & Institute for Life Sciences:
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8582

Faculty of Physical and Applied Sciences: David Woolley
Email: d.woolley@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8341

Faculty of Social and Human Sciences: Nikki Matthews
Email: n.s.matthews@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8340

Industry Liaison

Aerospace Southampton: Ben Jones
Email: b.jones@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8567

Southampton Marine and Maritime Institute: Simon Gerrard
Email: Simon.Gerrard@soton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8708

Collaboration Support

Bid Manager: Niki Price
Email: N.Price@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8574

Major Contracts Manager: Olivia Chalwin
Email: o.j.chalwin@soton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8676

Knowledge Transfer Partnership/Knowledge Transfer Secondments

Programme Officer: Dr Phil Jewell
Email: p.e.jewell@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 8568

Marketing and Communications

Marketing Officer: Jeanne Jackman
Email: jvj@southampton.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)23 8059 9226

General Enquiries

Research and Innovation Services
University of Southampton
Southampton
S017 1BJ

Tel: +44(0)23 8059 3095
Fax: +44(0)23 8059 3585
Email: ris@southampton.ac.uk