The University of Southampton
Doctoral College

Research data management: a briefing

Research data management is about good research practice. Research data comes in many forms and this lunchtime briefing will cover principles that apply to all types of data including annotations on texts, scanned images, notes and observations, pictures, sound as well as spreadsheets. The purpose of research data management is to enable researchers to create high quality research that is reliable, reproducible and retrievable. Greater emphasis is being placed on research data as an output and increasingly Governments and Funders have the expectation that data, created through research they have funded, will be made available for future research.

Course description

This briefing will provide:-

At the end of the briefing you should be aware of the key aspects of research data management.

Led by

Research Engagement Team (Library)

This session is for

All doctoral researchers but particularly those near the beginning of their research.

Dates and times

Wednesday 2nd November 2016, 12:00-13:00 - Highfield Campus
Wednesday 16th November 2016, 12:00-13:00 - Highfield Campus
Monday 28th November, 13:00-14:00 - Highfield Campus
Wednesday 14th December, 12:00-13:00 - Highfield Campus
Tuesday 17th January 2017, 12:00-13:00 - Highfield Campus
Wednesday 8th February 2017, 14:00-15:00 - Southampton General Hospital
Wednesday 15th February 2017, 13:00-14:00 - Highfield Campus
Thursday 30th March 2017, 10:00-11:00 - Southampton General Hospital - CANCELLED
Friday 31st March 2017, 13:00-14:00 - Highfield Campus
Friday 5th May 2017, 12:00-13:00 - Highfield Campus

How to book

To register for this workshop please use Gradbook button below.

Gradbook

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.

×