

Image by RP Boardman & H Fangohr, Ferromagnetic nanostructure develops a vortex

Condensed Matter and Materials Physics CMMP09

15 – 17 December 2009 University of Warwick www.iop.org/Conferences

Organised by the Condensed Matter and Materials Physics Division of the Institute of Physics

IOP Institute of Physics



Condensed Matter and Materials Physics **CMMP09**

The Condensed Matter and Materials Physics (CMMP) conference is the UK national conference for condensed matter and related physics. Sponsored by the Condensed Matter and Materials Physics Division of the Institute of Physics, CMMP is a major event in the UK physics calendar. This year, CMMP09 will be held at the University of Warwick, from 15 – 17 December 2009.

The conference will include a wide range of symposia, with speakers and contributions from the UK and abroad. The plenary, invited and contributed talks, along with poster sessions, will cover the most exciting and topical aspects of condensed matter and material physics.

CMMP has always provided a forum for young researchers to present their work, either in symposia or in poster sessions. There will be prizes for the best student contributions, including a poster prize. This year the traditional student-day activities will be embedded within the main conference programme, with special introductory lectures scheduled on the major themes.

Venue

The conference will be held at the University of Warwick, located close to Coventry, with excellent road, rail and air links (Birmingham International Airport) to all parts of the UK and abroad. There will be free on-site parking for conference participants.

All the sessions, plenary and parallel, will take place in the Ramphal Building, a splendid venue with lecture rooms, poster and exhibitions areas under one roof. Accommodation with en-suite facilities will be available on site. Warwick is noted for providing some of the best conference facilities in the country, and this will contribute to the success of CMMP09.

Scientific Programme Plenary Lecturers

Donal Bradley (Imperial College), Mott Lecturer Stephen Blundell (Oxford), Wohlfarth Lecturer Mike Gillan (UCL) Gil Lonzarich (Cambridge) Gerd Materlik (Diamond) Igor Mazin (NRL, Washington) John Pendry (Imperial College)

Details at www.iop.org/Conferences/



Condensed Matter and Materials Physics **CMMP09**

Symposia and organisers

- Energy: photovoltaics, solar cells, artificial photosynthesis Robin Ball (Warwick)
- Nanoscale physics
 Bruce Hamilton (Manchester)
- Nanomagnetism Tiehan Shen (Salford) and Hans Fangohr (Southampton)
- Multiferroics
 Stephen Blundell (Oxford), David Keen (ISIS), and
 Pam Thomas (Warwick)
- Spintronics
 Peter de Groot (Southampton)
- Modern synchrotron-based methods for surface and interface studies Georg Held (Reading), James O'Shea (Nottingham), and Chris Nicklin (Diamond)
- Superconductivity Tony Carrington (Bristol)
- Strongly correlated systems
 Jorge Quintanilla (ISIS) and Andrew Schofield
 (Birmingham)
- New ideas in condensed matter theory Derek Lee (Imperial)
- Quantum fluids and solids Viktor Tsepelin (Lancaster)
- Nanophysics at low temperatures John Saunders (RHUL)
- Quantum coherence Phil Meeson (RHUL)
- Matter under extreme conditions Andrew Gregory (AWE)
- Metamaterials and plasmonics Stefan Maier (Imperial)
- Computational electronic structure and transport: from molecules to solids James Annett (Bristol)
- Ultracold atoms
 Nicola Wilkin (Birmingham) and Mark Fromhold
 (Nottingham)

Meet the Research Councils

On the evening of 15 December, there will be an opportunity to discuss the arrangements for access to large scale facilities with David Delpy of the EPSRC, Andrew Taylor of STFC and Gerd Materlik of Diamond.

Roy Prize

The Roy prize is awarded annually at CMMP by the Condensed Matter and Materials Physics Division of the Institute of Physics. The prize of £500 is awarded for the best PhD thesis in condensed matter/materials physics submitted during the previous academic year. Nominations should be sent to

JE.Inglesfield@googlemail.com by 1 September 2009, and further information is available at

www.iop.org/activity/groups/division/cmmp/ Roy_Prize/page_32032.html

Organising Committee

Conference Chair: Peter Weightman (Liverpool) Conference Secretary: John Inglesfield (Cardiff) Local Chair: Malcolm Cooper (Warwick) Programme Committee:

Tony Carrington (Bristol), Simon Crampin (Bath), Phil Meeson (RHUL), Don Paul (Warwick), Paul Strange (Kent)

Important dates

Abstract deadline: **18 September 2009** Late abstracts (posters only): **23 November 2009** Early registration deadline: **16 November 2009**

Exhibition

CMMP09 will feature an associated exhibition, running throughout the conference, of research equipment and materials, as well as scientific publications. The exhibition will take place in the Ramphal Building where the lectures also take place, giving maximum exposure to the exhibits.

For full details on exhibiting opportunities, please contact Jon Mackew (jon.mackew@iop.org).

IOP Institute of Physics