Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
ADEPT – Advanced Devices by ElectroPlaTing


The day-to-day running of ADEPT is handled by the co-investigators and the programme manager. In addition, we have an external advisory board whose remit is to advise on the direction of the research, and its relevance and usefulness to a non-academic audience.

ADEPT Advisory board

Graeme Purdy (chair), CEO, Ilika PLC

Graeme was appointed to head-up Ilika from the beginning of May 2004, just before completion of the company's seed round of funding. He led the company through two successful rounds of venture funding before floating the company on AIM in 2010.

Prior to joining Ilika, Graeme was Chief Operating Officer of a high-technology company in the Netherlands and before that worked internationally in a variety of technical and commercial roles for Shell. Graeme holds a Master's degree in Chemical Engineering from Cambridge and an MBA from INSEAD business school in France. Graeme is a Chartered Engineer and a Sainsbury Management Fellow.


Peter Dobson, founder of Oxonica, Oxford Biosensors and Oxford NanoSystems

Professor Peter Dobson was the Director of Oxford University’s Begbroke Science Park until 2013, and also the Strategic Advisor to RCUK on Nanotechnology. He now has affiliations to several universities: Bristol (Physics); UCL (Chemistry); Birmingham (Chair of the NERC Nano facility) Warwick Manufacturing Group (Principal Fellow). He is also on the Strategic Advisory Board of the EPSRC Quantum Technology programme. He founded three companies in Oxford: Oxonica, Oxford Biosensors and Oxford NanoSystems. He is also an advisor to a company in the US, Bikanta that sells nanodiamonds for biomedical applications, founded by a former student. He was also involved in helping another 7-8 companies form and grow locally in the Oxford region.


Catherine Ramsdale, VP Device Design, PragmatIC

Catherine has more than 15 years experience in printed electronics research and development. Over 8 years at Plastic Logic she helped pioneer technologies for semiconductor devices on plastic, including successful transfer to manufacturing. Catherine has a first in Physics from Imperial College and a PhD from the Cavendish Laboratory at Cambridge University, and is a named inventor on 6 patents.


Justin Holmes, Professor of Nanochemistry, University College Cork

Justin D. Holmes is Professor of Nanochemistry in the School of Chemistry at University College Cork (UCC). He leads the Materials Chemistry & Analysis Group (MCAG) conducting research on the development of chemical methods for synthesising and assembling nanostructured materials for electronic, catalytic, energy and environmental applications. 

Prof Holmes is a Principal Investigator in a number of research centres, which include the Environmental Research Institute (ERI) and the Tyndall National Institute at UCC and the Centre for Research on Adaptive Nanostructures and Nanodevices (CRANN) based in Trinity College Dublin (TCD).  He is also A Principal Investigator and Deputy Director of the Advanced Materials and Bioengineering Research (AMBER) Centre, a Science Foundation Ireland funded centre that provides a partnership between leading researchers in materials science and industry, based in TCD and UCC.  He is co-founder and a member of the scientific advisory board for the UCC spin-out company Glantreo.  Professor Holmes is a member of the Royal Irish Academy and a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.


Alain Walcarius, Director of the Laboratory of Physical Chemistry and Microbiology for Materials and the Environment (LCPME)

Alain Walcarius is currently Senior Researcher at CNRS and Director of the Laboratory of Physical Chemistry and Microbiology for the Materials and the Environment (Nancy, France) where his analytical and electroanalytical chemistry group works in the area of chemical reactions at solid/liquid interfaces. His main research interests lie at the intersection between electrochemistry, analytical chemistry, and materials science, with special focus to sol-gel and mesoporous materials as electrode modifiers.

Privacy Settings