Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Biological Sciences

Achievements recognised at Dean’s Prize Award Ceremony

Published: 18 December 2013
Dean's Prize

Outstanding early career academics from the Faculty of Natural and Environmental Sciences were recognised for their achievements at Dean’s Prize Award Ceremony 2013.

Stephen Hawkins, Professor of Natural Sciences and Dean of the Faculty, awarded prizes to ten early career academics, including postdocs, research fellows and teaching fellows in recognition of their involvement in research, public engagement, education, enterprise and citizenship.

Dean's Prize Winners

Professor Hawkins says "In a research intensive faculty such as Natural and Environmental Sciences it is our postdocs and fellows that are in the frontline of our research efforts - in the field, at sea, in the laboratory and behind the computer screen. Our teaching fellows are all crucial to ensuring that our education is delivered in a modern and accessible manner.

"All of our postdocs and fellows make a huge contribution to the general vitality of the various departments in the faculty, they get involved in public engagement, enterprise and just making the place run and be a fun place to work in.

"We were also very pleased to have alumnus and special guest Chris Packham present the awards"

Presented certificates to ten early career academics
Professor Hawkins and Chris Packham

The Dean's Prize winners are Sophie Benjamin (Chemistry) for research, Susanne Coles (Chemistry) for citizenship and research, James Dillon (Biological Sciences) for public engagement and education, Michelle Harris (Ocean and Earth Science, OES) for her all-round contribution, Judith Lock (Biological Sciences) for education, Kirsteen MacKenzie (OES) for her all-round contribution, Erika Parkinson (Biological Sciences) for citizenship, Giuseppe Pileilo (Chemistry) for research, David Rusling (Biological Sciences) for his all-round contribution and Mark Vardy (OES) for enterprise.

Special Guest - Chris Packham
David Rusling and Erika Parkinson
Dr Judith Lock
Education Award
James Dillon (for public engagement and education)
Concordat to Support the Career Development of Researchers
Privacy Settings