Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Centre for Democratic Futures


The Co-Directors provide a public face for the Centre and a first contact point for enquiries. Their work is guided by the Steering Group which is drawn from and guided by the membership.

Dr Valentina Cardo

Valentina Cardo

Associate Professor of Politics and Identity, Director of Internationalisation

Professor Silke Roth

Silke Roth

Professor of Sociology, Chair of Faculty Ethics Committee, Co-Director of the Centre for Democratic Futures

Dr Matthew Ryan

Matthew Ryan

UKRI Future Leaders Fellow, Associate Professor in Governance and Public Policy, Co-Director of the Centre for Democratic Futures, Policy Director at the Web Science Institute

Privacy Settings