Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Clean Carbon

Energy Technology Group hosts this year’s SCI Electrochemistry Postgraduate Conference

Published: 19 May 2017

Friday 19 May saw this year’s edition of the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) Electrochemistry Postgraduate Conference hosted, for 2017, by the Electrochemical Engineering Laboratory of the Energy Technology Group.

The event partnered with the Royal Society of Chemistry and the International Society of Electrochemistry with the aim of forming networks of early career researchers in this field. Registered delegates met from 10:00 to 18:00 at the Hartley Suite, Highfield Campus. The programme featured one keynote, one invited lecture, ten student presentations, fifteen posters and an informal networking reception. Additional sponsorship for the event was provided by the Clean Carbon University Strategic Research Group (USRG).

More than sixty PhD students and postdoctoral researchers from nine UK universities were brought together by the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI), which was founded in 1881 to promote the application of chemical science for the benefit of society. Participants from the Engineering and Chemistry faculties of our University also found an opportunity to meet each other and discover links between their work.



Dr. Kathryn Toghill (Lancaster University), who coordinates the UK Redox Flow Battery Network gave the keynote address. She presented her work on the current opportunities in electrochemical energy storage and electrochemical reduction of CO2 to fuels.

There were prizes awarded for the best  student presentations and posters. Stanislav V. Sokolov (University of Oxford), was the winner of the best presentation prize; while the prize for best poster went to Marta Meneghello (University of Southampton).


Notes for editors

This event forms part of the activities of the Faculty of Engineering and the Environment towards achieving leadership in electrochemical energy storage, battery management systems and optimization of the power grid. The organising committee is formed by PhD candidates: Luis F. Arenas and Alex Holland, who were supported by their supervisors, Dr. Carlos Ponce de León, Professor Frank C. Walsh and Professor Andy Cruden.

The University of Southampton is recognised worldwide for its contributions to fundamental electrochemical science and electrochemical engineering. These advances have been applied in fuel cells, water electrolysis, various types of batteries, biosensors and nano-materials.


Privacy Settings