Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Doctoral College

Early Career Researchers present their research at the House of Commons today

Published: 7 March 2016
Rui Vieira
Rui Vieira, PhD student in Ocean and Earth Sciences, is presenting in SET for Britain today

A group of nine Early Career Researchers are presenting their research in Parliament today as part of SET for Britain.

The annual poster competition, held in the House of Commons, brings together 210 Early Career Researchers (ECRs) to present their research. The posters will be judged by a panel of professional and academic experts in the only national competition of its kind.

The nine ECRs from the University, who were shortlisted from hundreds of applications to appear in Parliament today, are a mixture of research fellows, senior research assistants and PhD students. They are competing in the Physical Sciences, Engineering and Biosciences sessions.

Stephen Metcalfe MP, Chairman of the Parliamentary and Scientific Committee, which runs SET for Britain, said: “This annual competition is an important date in the parliamentary calendar because it gives MPs an opportunity to speak to a wide range of the country’s best young researchers.

These career engineers, mathematicians ands scientists are the architects of our future and SET for Britain is politicians’ best opportunity to meet them and understand their work.”

Each of the four sessions will result in the award of Bronze (£1,000), Silver (£2,000) and Gold (£3,000) certificates. There will also be an overall winner from the four sessions who will receive the Westminster Wharton Medal, in honour of Dr Eric Wharton who established SET for Britain in 1997.

Those representing the University today are:

  • Benjamin Lowe – Electronic and Computer Science
  • Catarina Moura – Chemistry and Institute for Life Sciences
  • Dr John Coxon – Physics and Astronomy
  • Dr Taihai Chen – Electronics and Computer Science
  • Dr Qiongyue Kang – Optoelectronics Research Centre
  • Dr Zhenhua Luo – Electronics and Computer Science
  • Dr Katrina Morgan – Electronics and Computer Science
  • Rui Vieira – Ocean and Earth Science
  • Patrick Vilela – Physics and Astronomy

Good luck from the Doctoral College to the Early Career Researchers taking part today.

Privacy Settings