Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Doctoral College

Three Minute Thesis Grand Final

Published: 2 May 2017

Staff and students are invited to this year’s Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) University Grand Final.

Taking place on Wednesday 17 May 2017 from 17:00 – 18:30 in the EEE Lecture Theatre (Room 1015), Building 32, Highfield Campus, free tickets for the event can be booked online.

Eight doctoral researchers, one per faculty, will take to the stage to compete in this year’s Three Minute Thesis University Grand Final.

For this annual event, which is part of a wider global initiative, doctoral researchers have just three minutes to explain their research. Competitors are allowed to use one static slide and must make their explanation fit for a non-expert audience.

The eight competitors, who have already won their respective faculty heats, are:

  • Kate Morton (Social, Human and Mathematical Sciences)
  • Susan Nazirizadeh (Health Sciences)
  • Lauren Jevons (Medicine)
  • Carlos Lamas Fernandez (Business, Law and Art)
  • Ivan Ling (Engineering and the Environment)
  • Miguel Xavier (Physical Sciences and Engineering)
  • Graciela Arizmendi Gonzalez (Humanities)
  • Katie St John Glew (Natural and Environmental Sciences)

Last year’s University Grand Final winner, Nazira Albargothy from the Faculty of Medicine went on to achieve national success, becoming the UK Three Minute Thesis Champion for 2016.

Prizes will be awarded to the winners of both the People’s Choice vote and the Judging Panel’s decision.

The 3MT Grand Final is part of the programme for the Doctoral College’s Festival of Doctoral Research and you can join in the conversation on social media using the hash tag: #3mtsoton.

For any queries, please contact Jo James:

Privacy Settings