Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Doctoral College

Key Contacts

Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences Contacts

The Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences (FELS) consists of five Schools: Biological Sciences, Geography & Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences, Ocean & Earth Sciences and Psychology. Key contacts are listed below:

Professor Tim Minshull Faculty Director of FELS Graduate School  x26569 NOCS/786/11
Dr Herman Wijnen  Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Biological Sciences Building 85, Room 4047 
Dr Andrew Power Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Geography & Environmental Sciences  Building 44, Room 2082
Dr Bronagh Walsh Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Health Sciences Building 67, Room 4025
Professor Tim Wildschut Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Psychology Building 44, Room 4009
Professor Alberto Naveira Garabato Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Ocean & Earth Science  x22680 NOCS/564/17

 The Deanery

Professor Tamar Pincus Dean of the Faculty
Professor Sarah Stevenage Associate Dean (Education & Student Experience)

Contact Information for the FELS Faculty Finance Office

Anna Kerhoas Head of Faculty Finance Level 3, Building 85
Helen Barton  Level 3, Building 67/3003
Donna Bowes  Level 3, Building 67/3003

School of Biological Sciences Contacts

Dr Herman Wijnen Doctoral Programme Director, School of Biological Sciences  Building 85, Room 4047
Ms Lorraine Prout Senior Administrative Officer Building 85, Room 2043

Pastoral Tutors: School of Biological Sciences Graduate School 

You can request an appointment with one of the three pastoral tutors at any time throughout the course of your studies.

Dr Melissa Andrews
Dr Katrin Deinhardt
Dr Lex Kraaijeveld
International students can also contact the International Student Tutor:
Dr Yihua Wang

School of Biological Sciences Health & Safety and Buildings Managers 

Mark Jones Health & Safety Laboratory
Mark Dixon Building 85 Manager
Pete Dargie Building 44/4111

School of Geography and Environmental Sciences Key Contacts

Contact details for other School staff are available on the website.

NamePositionContact & LocationCan help you with:
Andrew Power Doctoral Programme Director  Academic issues, policy, grievances
Julie Drewitt Senior Administrative Officer (Graduate School)


Building 85, Room 2043

General matters of reporting, progression & all administrative matters relating to your studies etc.
Peter Dargie Health and Safety Officer


Building 44, Room 4111

Health and safety/Fire warden/Risk assessments
Peter Morgan Technician/ Health and Safety Officer


Building 44, Room 1017 

Laboratory suite and technical support
Emma Guest Librarian

Library enquiries
Kate Parks Senior Tutor


Building 44, Room 2055 

Personal issues


School of Health Sciences Contacts

NamePositionContact & Location
Dr Bronagh Walsh Doctoral Programmes Director Building 67, Room 4025
Jane Kennard Senior Administrative Officer, Graduate School Office

Building 85, Room 2043 and Building 67, Student Office, Level 1, Room 1003


Kate Walker Librarian 

School of Ocean and Earth Science Contacts

NamePositionContact & Location
Professor Alberto Naveira Garabato Doctoral Programme Director

x 22680


Mary Smith   Senior Administrative Officer (Graduate School)

02380 596028


Karen Rolfe Librarian 

Professor Harry Bryden Postgraduate Mentor. Alternatively, Graduate Student Office staff are able to direct you to relevant support - please contact for a confidential chat.


02380 596437

NOCS Estates Team NOCS Estates Team


Structure of SOES

Professor Mark Moore Head of SOES 
Professor Alberto Naveira Garabato

Doctoral Programme Director


Professor Toby Tyrrell Director of SPITFIRE 
Professor Toby Tyrrell Chair of SOES PGR Admissions Panel
Professor Alberto Naveira Garabato   Director of NEXUSS CDT
Professor Justin Dix  Director of Oil & Gas CDT

School of Psychology

Professor Matt Garner Head of School Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3001
Professor Felicity Bishop Director of Programmes Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3067
Professor Tim Wildschut Doctoral Programme Director Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4009
Dr Jacob Juhl PGR Upgrade Tutors’ co-ordinator Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4023
Dr Daniel Schoth Director of Student Support Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3071
Dr Anne McBride
Dr Tina Seabrooke
UG Student Support Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3011
Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4109
Dr Sarah Kirby
Dr Christoph Witzel
PG Student Support Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3015
Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4104
Mr Pete Dargie  Health and Safety Officer, Keys Master, First Aider, Buildings Officer Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4111 (First Aiders, Room 3073) 
Dr Emma Palmer-Cooper
Dr Christoph Witzel
Schools/Colleges Liaison Officers Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4060
Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4104
Allyson Marchi Telephone Liaison Officer  Shackleton, Building 44, Room, 3003
Julie Drewitt Senior Administrative Officer: Graduate School Office

Building 85, Room 2043 

Privacy Settings