Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
The University of Southampton
Doctoral College

Key Contacts

Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences Contacts

The Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences (FELS) consists of five Schools: Biological Sciences, Geography & Environmental Sciences, Health Sciences, Ocean & Earth Sciences and Psychology. Key contacts are listed below:

Name Position Contact Location
Professor Tim Minshull Faculty Director of FELS Graduate School T.A.Minshull@soton.ac.uk x26569 NOCS/786/11
Dr Herman Wijnen Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Biological Sciences H.Wijnen@soton.ac.uk Building 85, Room 4047
Dr Andrew Power Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Geography & Environmental Sciences A.Power@soton.ac.uk Building 44, Room 2082
Dr Bronagh Walsh Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Health Sciences B.M.Walsh@soton.ac.uk Building 67, Room 4025
Professor Tim Wildschut Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Psychology R.T.Wildschut@soton.ac.uk Building 44, Room 4009
Professor Alberto Naveira Garabato Doctoral Programmes Director, School of Ocean & Earth Science acng@noc.soton.ac.uk x22680 NOCS/564/17

The Deanery

Name Position
Professor Tamar Pincus Dean of the Faculty
Professor Sarah Stevenage Associate Dean (Education & Student Experience)

Contact Information for the FELS Faculty Finance Office

Name Position Contact Location
Anna Kerhoas Head of Faculty Finance A.T.Kerhoas@soton.ac.uk Level 3, Building 85
Helen Barton felsfin@soton.ac.uk Level 3, Building 67/3003
Donna Bowes felsfin@soton.ac.uk Level 3, Building 67/3003

School of Biological Sciences Contacts

Name Position Contact Location
Dr Herman Wijnen Doctoral Programme Director, School of Biological Sciences H.Wijnen@soton.ac.uk Building 85, Room 4047
Ms Lorraine Prout Senior Administrative Officer fels-gradschool@soton.ac.uk Building 85, Room 2043

Pastoral Tutors: School of Biological Sciences Graduate School

You can request an appointment with one of the three pastoral tutors at any time throughout the course of your studies.

Name Contact
Dr Melissa Andrews M.Andrews@soton.ac.uk
Dr Katrin Deinhardt K.Deinhardt@soton.ac.uk
Dr Lex Kraaijeveld A.R.Kraaijeveld@soton.ac.uk
International students can also contact the International Student Tutor:
Dr Yihua Wang yihua.wang@soton.ac.uk

School of Biological Sciences Health & Safety and Buildings Managers

Name Position
Contact
Mark Jones Health & Safety Laboratory M.Jones@soton.ac.uk
Mark Dixon Building 85 Manager M.Dixon@soton.ac.uk
Pete Dargie Building 44/4111 P.G.Dargie@soton.ac.uk

School of Geography and Environmental Sciences Key Contacts

Contact details for other School staff are available on the website .

Name Position Contact & Location Can help you with:
Andrew Power Doctoral Programme Director A.Power@soton.ac.uk Academic issues, policy, grievances
Julie Drewitt Senior Administrative Officer (Graduate School)

x22216

Building 85, Room 2043

fels-gradschool@soton.ac.uk

General matters of reporting, progression & all administrative matters relating to your studies etc.
Peter Dargie Health and Safety Officer

x24513

Building 44, Room 4111

p.g.dargie@soton.ac.uk

Health and safety/Fire warden/Risk assessments
Peter Morgan Technician/ Health and Safety Officer

x24673

Building 44, Room 1017

p.r.morgan@soton.ac.uk

Laboratory suite and technical support
Emma Guest Librarian

libenqs@soton.ac.uk

Library enquiries
Kate Parks Senior Tutor

x23871

Building 44, Room 2055

kep1g11@soton.ac.uk

Personal issues

School of Health Sciences Contacts

Name Position Contact & Location
Dr Bronagh Walsh Doctoral Programmes Director Building 67, Room 4025
Jane Kennard Senior Administrative Officer, Graduate School Office

Building 85, Room 2043 and Building 67, Student Office, Level 1, Room 1003

x28226

felsstudentoffice.hs@soton.ac.uk

Kate Walker Librarian libenqs@soton.ac.uk

School of Ocean and Earth Science Contacts

Name Position Contact & Location
Professor Alberto Naveira Garabato Doctoral Programme Director

x 22680

NOCS/564/17

acng@soton.ac.uk

Mary Smith Senior Administrative Officer (Graduate School)

02380 596028

NOCS/166/09

Gsnocs@soton.ac.uk

Karen Rolfe Librarian

libenqs@soton.ac.uk

Professor Harry Bryden Postgraduate Mentor. Alternatively, Graduate Student Office staff are able to direct you to relevant support - please contact gsnocs@soton.ac.uk for a confidential chat.

NOCS/564/14

02380 596437

H.L.Bryden@soton.ac.uk

NOCS Estates Team NOCS Estates Team

x2666

estates@noc.ac.uk

Structure of SOES

Name Position
Professor Mark Moore Head of SOES
Professor Alberto Naveira Garabato

Doctoral Programme Director

Director of SPITFIRE & INSPIRE

Professor Toby Tyrrell Director of SPITFIRE
Professor Toby Tyrrell Chair of SOES PGR Admissions Panel
Professor Alberto Naveira Garabato Director of NEXUSS CDT
Professor Justin Dix Director of Oil & Gas CDT

School of Psychology

Name Position Location
Professor Matt Garner Head of School Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3001
Professor Felicity Bishop Director of Programmes Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3067
Professor Tim Wildschut Doctoral Programme Director Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4009
Dr Jacob Juhl PGR Upgrade Tutors’ co-ordinator Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4023
Dr Daniel Schoth Director of Student Support Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3071
Dr Anne McBride
Dr Tina Seabrooke
UG Student Support Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3011
Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4109
Dr Sarah Kirby
Dr Christoph Witzel
PG Student Support Shackleton, Building 44, Room 3015
Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4104
Mr Pete Dargie Health and Safety Officer, Keys Master, First Aider, Buildings Officer Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4111 (First Aiders, Room 3073)
Dr Emma Palmer-Cooper
Dr Christoph Witzel
Schools/Colleges Liaison Officers Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4060
Shackleton, Building 44, Room 4104
Allyson Marchi Telephone Liaison Officer Shackleton, Building 44, Room, 3003
Julie Drewitt Senior Administrative Officer: Graduate School Office

Building 85, Room 2043

fels-gradschool@soton.ac.uk

Privacy Settings