Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Doctoral CollegePostgraduate Research Handbook

Key Contacts

Key School Staff and Personnel

Deans, Doctoral Programme Directors and Student Representatives

PositionName
Dean (In charge of Faculty) Professor Jane Falkingham
Associate Dean (Research) Professors Sally Brailsford and Rebecca Hoyle
Associate Dean (Education) Professor Jim Anderson
Director Faculty Graduate School                              Associate Professor Vadim Grinevich
Deputy Director Faculty Graduate School (Training) Dr Ben Saunders
Faculty Academic Registrar Nasseem Fazel-Hamedani

Doctoral Programme Directors

Doctoral Programme

Director

Education

Dr Michaela Brockmann M.Brockmann@soton.ac.uk

Mathematics

Professor Jelena Grbic J.Grbic@soton.ac.uk

Social Sciences

Economics: Dr Zacharias Maniadis Z.Maniadis@soton.ac.uk

Gerontology: Professor Maria Evandrou  maria.evandrou@soton.ac.uk

PAIR: Dr John Boswell J.C.Boswell@soton.ac.uk

SSPC: Dr Charlie Walker charlie.walker@soton.ac.uk

SSD: Professor Vicky Hosegood (S2) V.Hosegood@soton.ac.uk

Business

Dr Bruce Hearn B.A.Hearn@soton.ac.uk  

Law

Dr Jacob Eisler J.Eisler@soton.ac.uk & Dr Alun Gibbs A.Gibbs@soton.ac.uk

The Faculty also hosts students who are funded by the following Doctoral Training Centres/Centres for Doctoral Training. Students registered within FSS will be administered by FSS and required to complete the FSS progression milestones. Details of where you are registered may be obtained from the Faculty Graduate School.

EPSRC CDT in Next Generation Computational Modelling

Director Dr Andreas Juttner
Deputy Directors Dr Peter Horak, Dr Denis Kramer - for student enquiries
CDT Administrator PGRNGCM@soton.ac.uk

EPSRC CDT in WebScience Innovation

Director Dr Mark Weal (FEPS)
Deputy Director Professor Wendy Hall (FEPS)
CDT Manager Alison Tebbutt

ESRC South Coast Doctoral Training Partnership

Director

Professor Athina Vlachantoni

Deputy Director (Training)

Dr Michael Vlassopoulos

DTC Manager

Glenn Miller

Faculty Graduate School Administrative Team

The Graduate School Student Office is based in Building 58 (Social Sciences) Room 2111.

Reception is open: Monday – Friday 09.00 – 17:00

Doctoral Programme Area 

First Point of Contact 

Education:

J Blanco

Email: fss-ed-gradschool@soton.ac.uk

Mathematics:

Kulvir Bouri (Administrative Officer)

Email: fss-math-gradschool@soton.ac.uk

Tel :02380 597385 (internal 27385)

Social Sciences (Economics/PAIR/

Gerontology):

Gemma Harris

Email: fss-esps-gradschool@soton.ac.uk

Tel: 02380 591495 (internal 21495)

Social Sciences

(SSPC/SSD):

Jane Parsons (Administrative Officer)

Email: fss-esps-gradschool@soton.ac.uk

Tel: 02380 597426 (internal 27426)

Business

Chloe Evans (Administrative Officer)

Email : fss-bus-gradschool@soton.ac.uk

Tel: 02380 592562 (internal 22562)

Law

Debbie Evans

Email: fss-law-gradschool@soton.ac.uk

Tel: 02380  597360 (internal 27360)

Team Supervisors:

ESPS/Education/Law

Business/Maths

Rachel Slack

Debbie Evans

fss-gradschool@soton.ac.uk  

ESRC SCDTP/DTC Manager

Glenn Miller

Email: scdtp@soton.ac.uk

Tel: 02380 593476 (internal 23476)

ESRC SCDTP/DTC Administrator

Gemma Harris (Administrative Officer)

Email: scdtp@soton.ac.uk

Tel: 02380 591027 (internal 21027)

Team Leader

Claire Caffrey

Email: cmc@soton.ac.uk  

Tel: 02380 593747 (internal 23747)

Student Representatives on Faculty Committees / Advisory Groups

Doctoral Programme

Faculty Representative SUSU: Vacant

fss-pgr@susu.org

Education

Priscilla Salgado Riffo P.Riffo-Salgado@soton.ac.uk
 

Sharifa Al’Adawi ssaa2g15@soton.ac.uk     

Mathematics

Guy Boyde gb7g14@soton.ac.uk

Economics

Rodriguez Ortiz De Zarate M.Ortiz-De-Zarate-Rodriguez@soton.ac.uk

Feleipe Gonzalez Soley F.M.Gonzalez-Soley@soton.ac.uk

PAIR

TBC

SSD

Kaveri Mayra K.Mayra@southampton.ac.uk

GERO

Paul Lewzey pgl1e14@soton.ac.uk

Lisa Davison ld1g16@soton.ac.uk    

SSPC

Kasturi Bose K.Bose@soton.ac.uk

Business

Zenabi Moomin (HRM&OB) zm1e17@soton.ac.uk

Blue Nguyen (Acct) hthn1c16@soton.ac.uk

Ahmad Maaitah (B&F) aqkm1y15@soton.ac.uk

Aycin Demir (DD&DDM) ad3e15@soton.ac.uk

Melike Tunalioglu mnt1n15@soton.ac.uk

Joseph Kimaro (SI&E) jmk1n17@soton.ac.uk

Marios Kremantzis (DA&R) mdk1g17@soton.ac.uk

Law

Jing Ren jr1u14@soton.ac.uk

Hasan Azizagaoglu hta1g14@soton.ac.uk

Help

I need help with...

Privacy Settings