Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
EngineeringPostgraduate study

MSc Transportation Planning and Engineering Industrial Advisory Board

In 2016 the MSc Transportation Planning and Engineering Industrial Advisory Board was set up to establish a formal mechanism for industrial input to the MSc Transportation Planning and Engineering Course.

This Course has been running since 1969, and has educated over 700 transport professionals.  Students on the course include graduates at the start of their transport career, along with transport professionals seeking to enhance their knowledge and skills.  Industrial involvement in their education process is crucial, in order to ensure that the Course continues to reflect the changing nature and needs of the transport industry.

The Industrial Advisory Board comprises a team of leading transportation professionals who work with our academic staff to ensure our Courses are tailored to the needs of industry, and to facilitate industrial involvement in the learning process (for example, through co-supervision of dissertations).  The Board provides a wealth of experience to enhance course delivery and ensure that our students are effectively prepared for their career in an increasingly dynamic industry.

The Board currently comprises 17 members: 9 from a selection of transportation companies and local authorities and 8 key members of the teaching staff.

Industrial members

Dominic McGrath, Strategic Transport Manager, Hampshire County Council

Pete Boustred, Head of Green City & Infrastructure, Southampton City Council

Toni Velazquez, Head of Decarbonisation, Transport Research Laboratory

Sansaka Sirivadidurage, Technical Director, Mott MacDonald

Mark Smith, Director, Paul Basham Associates (Linkedin: Paul Basham Associates)

Kevin Travers, Head of Infrastructure, Transport & Place, Enterprise M3 (Twitter: @kevintr4vers, Linkedin: Kevin Travers

Pam Turton, Assistant Director, Portsmouth City Council (Linkedin: Pam Turton)

Hannah Clark, Transport Planning Team Leader, Devon County Council (Linkedin: Hannah Clark)

Lyndon Mendes, Transport Policy Team Leader, Surrey County Council

Members from the University of Southampton 

Dr. Simon Blainey (Chair of IAB), MSc TPE Programme Lead and Associate Professor in Transportation

Professor Tom Cherrett, Head of Transportation Research Group and Professor of Logistics and Transport Management

Professor John Preston,  Professor of Rail Transport

Dr Ben Waterson, Associate Professor, leading traffic modelling and operations research

Dr Katie Plant, Associate Professor in Human Factors Engineering

Dr Ioannis Kaparias, Associate Processor in Transport Engineering

Dr Shahram Heydari, Lecturer in Transportation

Dr Laila Ait Bihi Ouali, Lecturer in Engineering Economics and Management

Privacy Settings