Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton

The Doak Award

The Doak Award was established in 2011 by Elsevier in order to highlight the most successful paper in the Journal of Sound and Vibration each year.

The award is made in the name of Professor Philip E. Doak, the first Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Sound and Vibration, and the person with whom the journal will always be inextricably linked.

Professor Doak was, by all possible standards, an exceptional editor. He encouraged new academics, in the best way possible, by combining great personal kindness with a shrewd and objective assessment of the manuscripts that came to him. This ensured an enviable academic standard for the journal, and it has been the pleasure and privilege of successive editors to attempt to emulate his style and academic standards.

The Doak Award is given for the paper which has the best combined record of downloads and citations. All papers published in the Journal across the selected review period are eligible from across the whole spectrum of sound and vibration.


Recipients of the Doak Prize:

2017 DOAK winnders
2017 – L. Rensona(a), G. Kerschena(a), B. Cochelin(b)

2017 – L. Renson a, G. Kerschen a, B. Cochelin b

Space Structures and Systems Laboratory, Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering, University of Liège, Liège, Belgium

LMA, Centrale Marseille, CNRS UPR 7051, Aix-Marseille Université, F-13451 Marseille Cedex, France

Numerical Computation of Nonlinear Normal Modes in Mechanical

Engineering Volume 364, 3 March 2016, Pages 177-206

Presented at ISMA2018, Leuven, Belgium

Robin S. Langley winning award
Winner of the DOAK 2016 Award- Robin S. Langley

2016 - Robin S. Langley

Department of Engineering, University of Cambridge, Trumpington Street, Cambridge, CB2 1PZ, UK

A General Mass Law for Broadband Energy Harvesting

JSV, 333 (2014), 927-936

Presented at ICSV 2017, London, U.K.

Photo courtesy of; ZDENĚK HAVRÁNEK, Ph.D. Researcher, Cybernetics in Material Science | Laboratory of Smart Sensors, Brno University of Technology | Central European Institute of Technology - CEITEC


Doak prize 2015

2015 – A Stainoa, B Basua and S R K Nielsenb

aSchool of Engineering, Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland
bDept of Civil Engineering, Aalborg University, Denmark

Actuator Control of Edgewise Vibrations in Wind Turbine Blades

JSV, 331 (2012) 1233-1256

Presented at: Recent Advances in Dynamics 2016, Southampton, U.K.

Doak prize winners 2014

2014 – Oleksii Rudenko, Güneş Nakiboğlu, Ad Holten, Avraham Hirschberg

Department of Applied Physics, Eindhoven University of Technology, Eindhoven 5600 MB, The Netherlands

On Whistling of Pipes with a Corrugated Segment: Experiment and Theory

JSV 332 (2013) 7226–7242

Presented at Eindhoven University of Technology, 11 December 2015


Doak prize winners 2013

2013 - Christopher G.Cooley a, RobertG.Parker b,a

a The Ohio StateUniversity,Columbus, ,USA

b State KeyLabforMechanicalSystemsandVibration,UniversityofMichigan-ShanghaiJiaoTongUniversityJointInstitute,ShanghaiJiaoTongUniversity, Shanghai 200240,China

Unusual Gyroscopic System Eigenvalue Behavior in High-speed Planetary Gears

JSV, Vol 332, 1820-1828

Presented at ICSV 2015, Italy

Doak news story on Virginia Tech website


Doak award prize 2012

2012 – Dr Brian Mann, Duke University, USA and Dr Neil Simms, University of Sheffield

Energy Harvesting from the Nonlinear Oscillations of Magnetic Levitation   (JSV 2009, Vol. 319 pp. 515 -530)

Presented at ISVR 50th Celebrations 2013, Southampton, U.K.

Doak award news story




Doak prize 2011

2011 – Professor Neil Stephen, University of Southampton

On Energy Harvesting from Ambient Vibration (JSV, 293,1/2, pp 409-425)

Presented at ISVR, 2012, Southampton, U.K.

Doak prize winning news story




We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.