Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton

New Frontiers Fellowships

The New Frontiers Fellowship programme provides a structured post-doctoral career development pathway to an established academic position, with the aim of enhancing the skills of future academic leaders. Following a competitive application process, fellows are selected for their potential to develop an international reputation for excellence in research. The Fellowship provides the opportunity to develop an independent research profile along with excellence in teaching and education. The scheme aims to support new areas of research that will benefit society and advance engineering and/or environmental science.

The mentoring and training within the programme supports young academics and encourages the best possible start to their academic careers. In addition to the day-to-day mentored development of teaching, grant writing, and presentation skills, bespoke training is also offered, culminating in the New Frontiers Annual Leadership lecture. Previous lectures have featured Floyd Woodrow DCM MBE, who provided training on leadership, and representatives from Melior Advisors, whose lecture focused on pitch coaching.

Below are the Faculty Fellows, Independent Fellows and Alumni.

Faculty Fellows

Aeronautics, Astronautics and Computational Engineering

Dr Andrea Da Ronch

Dr Hodei Urrutxua

Dr Davide Lasagna

Dr Roeland de Kat

Civil, Maritime and Environmental Engineering and Science

Dr Joe Banks

Dr Athanasios Paschalis

Dr Sally Bennett

Dr Katie Plant

Dr Adam Sobey

Dr Nicholas Townsend

Engineering Sciences

Dr Dario Carugo

Dr Frances M. Davis

Dr Samuel Keyes

Dr Richard Cook

Institute of Sound and Vibration Research

Dr Jordan Cheer

Dr Giacomo Squicciarini

Independent Fellows

Royal Academy of Engineering Fellows

Dr Alex Dickinson

Leverhulme Early Career Fellow

Dr Roeland de Kat

Dr Frances M. Davis

ERC Starting Grant

Prof Bharathram Ganapathisubramani

ERC Consolidator Grant

Prof Tiina Roose

EPSRC Early Career Fellow

Dr Peter Glynne-Jones

EPSRC Established Career Fellow

Prof Fabrice Pierron


Internally Funded Fellows

Dr Lindsay-Marie Armstong

Dr Peter Glynne-Jones

Dr Ranga Dinesh Kanada Koralage

Dr David Toal

Dr Thomas Blumensath

Dr Simon Box

Royal Society University Research Fellow

Prof Tiina Roose

Royal Academy of Engineering Fellow

Dr Filippo Fazi

Dr Fleur Loveridge

Royal Commission 1851 Early Career Fellow

Dr Samuel Sinayoko

NERC Fellow

Dr Helen Czerski


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.