Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton

Industrial Advisory Board

In 1977 the University of Southampton trialled the first four year civil engineering course in the country; offering students a more complete experience, it allowed our graduates to compete with engineers around the world. Eighteen years later the course was accepted as the national model and it is this kind of forward thinking the University strives to achieve throughout its teaching.

The Industrial Advisory Board is a key part of this process and comprises of a team of leading civil engineering professionals who work with our academic staff to ensure our courses are tailored to the needs of industry. Working in areas from highway design to oil and gas exploration, the board not only provides a wealth of experience but helps ensure our students are unrivalled in their preparation for an increasingly dynamic industry.

The Board currently comprises 20 members, 9 from a selection of engineering companies/local authorites and 11 key members of the University's staff.


Industrial members

John Armitage - Structural Design Team Leader, Ramboll Gifford

Alan Churchman - Director, VVRM Ltd

Professor Ed Hollinghurst -  Formerly Joint Managing Director at Gifford, Ramboll Gifford

Dr Nigel Last - Research and Development Manager, BP Exploration

Neil Garrett - Engineering Leader (South), Laing O'Rourke

Hugh Jones - Chief Executive Officer, Steer Davies Gleave

Alison Jones - Associate, Design and Engineering, Atkins

Tim Lawton - Head of Highways (Operations), Hampshire County Council

Professor Graeme Shaw - Previously Head of Project management, London Underground Systems Programme, Transport for London


Members from the University of Southampton 

Dr Margarida Fernandes de Pinho Lopes - Civil Engineering and Environment Programme Director

Professor John Preston -  Head of Transportation Research Group

Professor Sonia Heaven - Head of Water and Environmental Engineering Group

Professor AbuBakr Bahaj - Head of Energy and Climate Change Group

Professor Ole Thomsen  - Head of Infrastructure Group

Professor David Richards - Head of School of Engineering

Professor Susan Gourvenec - SUCCESS Scholarship Scheme Co-Ordinator

Dr Simon Blainey - CEE Employability Officer

Dr Joel Smethurst - CEE Academic Admissions Tutor

Alastair McDonald - School of Engineering Director of Design Education

Gill Bramley - Senior Marketing Manager

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.