Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Faculty International Office

Shanghai Maritime University

Chinese maritime education originated at Shanghai and grew out of the Shipping Section of Shanghai Industrial College founded in 1909. Shanghai Maritime University (SMU) was established by the Ministry of Communications in 1959.

Shanghai Maritime University
Shanghai Maritime University

At present SMU runs 2 post-doctoral research stations, 17 doctoral programmes, 59 master’s degree programmes, and 47 bachelor’s degree programmes. SMU offers courses in the following fields:

The University Of Southampton offers the following opportunities for students currently studying at SMU:

Studyabroad@Southampton Programme for Undergraduates

Master’s Programmes in Law

Privacy Settings