Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton

Contemporary Music Group Event

13:00 - 13:50
13 March 2015
Turner Sims University of Southampton Highfield Campus SO17 1BJ

For more information regarding this event, please telephone Louise Johnson on 023 8059 8424 or email .

Event details

The University of Southampton's Contemporary Music Group return for their semester two concert.

Mahlerstücke, a new work by postgraduate composer Alexander Glyde-Bates, explores orchestral music and orchestral performance practice through a series of musical and theatrical transformations that highlight the many elements of orchestral performance that often go unnoticed. American composer Frederic Rzewski's Attica is the poignant final movement of his open score piece Coming Together. A piece that sets the letters of Sam Melville, a key figure in the 1971 riots at Attica State Prison, who was short and killed when the riots were put down by force.

Mahlerstücke (2015, World Première), Alexander Glyde-Bates (1989—)
Coming Together, Part II: Attica (1974), Frederic Rzewski (1938—)

Conductor: Benjamin Oliver
Recorder: Máté Szigeti
Flute: Rebecca Carey
Basson: Fiona Butterworth
Tuba: Alexander Glyde-Bates
Violin: Kath Roberts
Viola: Calum Burgess
Electric Guitar: Ben Jameson
Pianos: Harry Matthews, Zexian Au
Percussion: Joe Manghan
Voice: Christian Drew


Privacy Settings