Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton

Master of Music Recital Event

18:00 - 22:00
12 September 2016
Turner Sims Salisbury Road Southampton SO17 1BJ

For more information regarding this event, please telephone Louise Johnson on 02380598424 or email .

Event details

Two MMus performance students give their final recitals in Turner Sims at 6pm and 8pm. Admission is free and public are welcome to attend either or both performances.


18:00, Yi Han Liao, flute

Yi Han Liao, from Taiwan, began to study the piano when seven years old, and then the flute aged ten. She graduated from the Music Department at the University of Southampton in 2015, where she has continued her studies at Masters level. Her principal teachers include Cha Cha Chen, Georgia Browne and Owain Bailey.



Flute Sonata in C major, BWV 1033, J.S Bach
Mei, Kazuo Fukushima
Madrigal, Philippe Gaubert
Ballade for flute and piano, Frank Martin
Hungarian Pastoral Fantasy, Op. 26, Franz Doppler
Sonata No. 1 in e minor, Francois Devienne
Sonata for flute and piano, Jindrich Feld



20:00, Jieming Zhao, violin

Violinist Jieming Zhao won Excellent Graduate from Xing Hai Conservatory of Music at Bachelor level, continuing her studies with a Master Degree of Music Performance at the University of Southampton. She was awarded the Golden Prize of violin professional performance in the 1st Hong Kong International String Competition. In early 2016, as a co-leader of the Southampton University Sinfonietta, she performed in the Bartok Hall, Hungary.



Suite Italienne for Violin and Piano, Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
I. Introduzione: Allegro moderato
II. Serenata: Larghetto
III. Gavotta con due Variazioni
IV. Scherzino
V. Minuetto e Finale: Moderato
VI. Minuetto e Finale: Finale

Violin Sonata No.3 in C minor, Op.45, Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
I. Allegro molto ed appassionato
II. Allegretto espressivo alla Romanza
III. Allegro animato—Prestissimo


Fratres for Violin and Piano, Arvo Pärt (1935- )
An Evening in the Village for Violin and Piano, Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
Chanson Russe for Violin and Piano, Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
Violin Rhapsody No.1 Sz.87, Béla Bartók (1881-1945)
I. Lassú
II. Friss



Jieming Zhao
Jieming Zhao, violin
Privacy Settings