Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton

Paul Silverthorne Event

Paul Silverthorne
25 February 2019
Turner Sims Salisbury Road Southampton SO17 1BJ

For more information regarding this event, please email .

Event details

Today we welcome to the lunchtime concert series Paul Silverthorne (viola) performing with David Owen Norris (piano).



Serge Prokofiev (1891-1953)- Dance of the Knight from the ballet Romeo and Juliet (arranged Borisofsky)

Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971) - Suite Italienne (arr Dushkin/Silverthorne) 

          1. Introduzione - Allegro moderato

          2. Larghetto

          3. Tarantella - Vivace

          4. Gavotta con due Variazioni

          5. Scherzino - Presto alla breve

          6. Minuetto e Finale

Alban Berg (1885-1935) - Four Pieces Op5 (arranged Silverthorne)      

          1. Mäßig

          2. Sehr langsam

          3. Sehr rasch - Langsam -Sehr hastig

          4. Langsam

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) - Sonata in E flat Op 120 No 2

          1. Allegro Amabile

          2. Allegro Appassionato

          3. Andante con moto - Allegro

Free admission. 


Paul Silverthorne

Paul Silverthorne has combined a prolific solo career with principal positions in two of the most prestigious ensembles in London; the London Symphony Orchestra (from 1990 to 2015) and the London Sinfonietta since 1988.

His solo performances regularly take him to the USA, Far East,  Australia and Russia as well as closer to home in the UK and Europe.  He has performed as a soloist with such conductors as Sir Colin Davis,  André Previn, Sir Simon Rattle, Sir John Eliot Gardiner, Christopher Hogwood, Oliver Knussen, John Adams and Kent Nagano, with the LSO and other major orchestras in the UK, USA and Europe.  After a performance at the Proms,TheTimes (London) described him as “a virtuoso in sensitivity and technique”.

He is particularly renowned for his interpretation of new music and his commitment to this field has led to close relationships with leading composers of our time, many of whom have been inspired to write for him. He has worked closely with Pierre Boulez, Luciano Berio, Hans Werner Henze, Elliot Carter, Steve Reich, John Adams, Oliver Knussen, George Benjamin and Helmut Lachenmann among many others and is closely involved with several schemes to encourage young composers in the UK. His CD ‘Invocations’ on the Black Box label comprises 14 compositions inspired by his playing.

His recordings cover a wide range of repertoire and appear on EMI, Naxos, Chandos, Koch International Classics, ASV, Meridian, Albany and other labels to widespread acclaim. His recent CD, 'Beethoven by Arrangement' with pianist David Owen Norris, a collection of works arranged for viola and piano was issued on theToccata Classics label and widely praised.

“with a performance of the quality here, we can experience the dedicated and delightful musicianship that these players bring to this wonderful music.” [International Record Review]

His most recent recording is of the viola concerto (Divinum Mysterium) by the American composer Kenneth Fuchs with the LSO and Joanne Falletta on Naxos American Classics.

After leaving the LSO in October 2015 he spent three years as Professor of  Viola at the School of Music at Soochow University in Suzhou, China before returning to London to resume his teaching at the Royal Academy of Music and his position in the London Sinfonietta.

David Owen Norris

Privacy Settings