Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Health Work

Academy of Social Sciences appointments

Published: 6 July 2015
Prof Catherine Pope

Prof Catherine Pope was one of six successful candidates appointed to the Council of the Academy of Social Sciences. The result of this year's election to the Academy of Social Sciences was announced Thursday 2 July 2015.

A late resignation from Council meant that there were three vacancies in each of the two constituencies - for election by the member Learned Societies and by the Fellows. Accordingly, the six people listed below will now join Council, along with Professor Roger Goodman FAcSS, whom Council has appointed as its new Chair in succession to Professor Sir Cary Cooper CBE FAcSS.

The successful candidates:

Professor Patricia Broadfoot CBE FAcSS, Emeritus Professor of Education, University of Bristol
Professor David Byrne FAcSS, Professor in the School of Applied Social Sciences, Durham University
Professor Matt Flinders FAcSS, Professor in Politics, University of Sheffield and Chair of the Political Studies Association
Professor Linda Hantrais FAcSS, Emeritus Professor, Department of Politics, History and International Relations, Loughborough University
Professor Andrew Jones FAcSS, Dean of the School of Arts and Sciences, City University London
Professor Catherine Pope, Professor of Medical Sociology, University of Southampton

Report and pictures from Academy of Social Sciences website


We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.