Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Institute for Life Sciences

FioNA Steering Committee

Our interdisciplinary steering committee for the Focusing in on Nucleic Acids project is composed of academic members of staff from a range of disciplines, united by their research in nucleic acids.



Professor Peter J S Smith

Biophysics and Cell Biology

Professor in Life Sciences



Dr Claire E Clarkin

Differentiation and organogenesis

Lecturer in Developmental Biology


Dr Mark J Coldwell

Mechanisms of alternative translation initiation codon selection in the regulation of eukaryotic gene expression

Lecturer in Biochemistry


Professor Sarah Ennis

Genetics and disease causality

Senior Lecturer in Cell and Molecular Biology


Dr Syma Khalid

DNA/lipid complexes and DNA sequencing with nanopores

Senior Lecturer in Computational Chemistry


 Dr Tilman Sanchez-Elsner

Micro RNA, development and disease

Senior Lecturer in Biomedical Sciences


 Dr Maria-Nefeli Tsaloglou

Digital microfluidics and isothermal nucelic acid amplification

Marie Curie Fellow, Harvard University and University of Southampton

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.