Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Interdisciplinary Research Excellence

EPSRC Health Technologies Visit Event

EPSRC Health Technologies Visit
10:00 - 13:00
28 September 2012
Senate Room Building 37

For more information regarding this event, please telephone Frances Clarke on 023 8059 8975 or email .

Event details

A visit from the senior EPSRC Team for Health Technologies

The senior EPSRC Team: Dr Rachel Bishop, who leads on Health Technologies, Dr Nicola Goldberg, Senior Healthcare Technologies Manager, and portfolio managers, Dr Hannah Maytum and Dr Helen Hunt, will spend the day at Southampton University on Friday 28th September. The objectives of their visit are:-

To hear about the range of healthcare technologies relevant research at Southampton.

  • To understand what our strategy and vision is in health relevant research.
  • To learn about how we connect with clinicians and companies.

Agenda for the day

  • 10.00 am: accompanied by  Professor Jane Burridge, Jon Williams, Professor Donna Davies, Prof Dan Bader, Dr Enrico Tambellini and Brandy Coote the team will visit the Biomedical Research Unit, IDS and cancer sciences.

Transport brings the EPSRC team and hosts to Highfield/ B37/The Senate Room 

  • 11.30 am: tea and coffee and joined by other participants (please register to attend) for official Welcome: Professor Jane Burridge
  •  11.45 pm: 10 minute Presentations:-

 1. Chris Freeman - Iterative Learning Control of Functional Electrical Stimulation.

2. Geraldine Clough and Andy Chipperfield – Sensing skin health.

3. Ann Ashburn - Novel sensing in falls prevention (SPHERE).

4. Collin Scones – Laser printable point of care sensors for low cost diagnostics.

5. Hywel Morgan – Biofluidic devices.

  • 12.45 pm: Buffet lunch and networking opportunity
  • 1.45: Second Tour accompanied by Hywel Morgan, Jane Burridge, Jon Williams, Frances Clarke, Brandy Coote: the team will visit Mountbatten Building; Building 45 and Wolfson Laboratory, Building 85.
  • 3.15 pm final meeting - B85/6003 EPSRC Team and Phil Nelson (Chair), Peter Smith, Jane Burridge, Honora Smith, Hywel Morgan, Hilary Smith, Jon Williams, Brandy Coote and Frances Clarke.

 If you wish to attend please email Frances Clarke

Health Technologies at Southampton
Health Technologies at Southampton
Privacy Settings