Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Interdisciplinary Research Excellence



Gail Taylor, Professor, Biological Sciences

Energy Co-Chairs

Paul Lewin, Professor, Electronics and Electrical Engineering

AbuBakr Bahaj, Professor, Civil Engineering and the Enironment

Robert Raja, Reader in Chemistry 

Milena Büchs, Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Social Policy

Patrick James, Senior Lecturer, Engineering and the Environment
Members Listing

Ben Anderson Senior Research Fellow Sustainable Energy Research Group
Nils Andersson Professor Mathematics
Darren Bagnall Professor Electronics and Computer Science
Charles Banks Professor Civil Engineering and the Environment
Maria Battarra Lecturer Mathematics
Atul Bhaskar Senior Lecturer Engineering Sciences
Tom Bibby Lecturer Ocean and Earth Science
Mark Blackwell Postgraduate Engineering Sciences
Sarah BoakMaria RSO Research and Innovation Services
Jacek Brodzki Professor Mathematics
Milena Buchs Lecturer Social Sciences
Thomas Carr Collaboration Manager Research and Innovation Services
Thomas Cherrett Senior Lecturer Civil Engineering and the Environment
Frances Clarke Multidisciplinary Research Co-ordinator Research and Innovation Services
Andrew Cruden Professor Engineering and the Environment
Gabi Durrant Reader Southampton Statistical Sciences Research Institute
Mary Edwards Professor Geography
Maxwell Fennelly    
Joerg Fliege Professor Mathematics
Luke Goater Administrative Staff Research and Innovation Services 
Dirk Gorissen Research Fellow Civil Engineering and the Environment
Julia Haines Executive Director Office of the Vice Chancellor
Arni Halldorsson Academic Staff Management
Zoe Harris PhD Student Biological Sciences
Grant Hearn Professor Engineering Sciences
Christopher Hill    
Sam Hodges   Nuffield Theatre
Darryl Howlett Senior Lecturer Social Sciences
Craig Hutton Research Staff Geodata Institute
Anthony Kelly Professor Education
Elena Koukharenko Research Fellow Electronics and Computer Science
Denis Kramer Lecturer Engineering Sciences
Peter Lanchester Academic Staff Physics and Astronomy
Pauline Leonard Reader Social Sciences
Anthony Leyland    
Xiaohong Li Senior Research Fellow Engineering and the Environment
Kai Luo Professor Engineering Sciences
Brian Mace Professor Institute of Sound and Vibration Research
Harj Mandair RSO Research and Innovation Services
Thomas Markvart     Professor Engineering Sciences
Michael McDonald Professor Civil Engineering and the Environment
Jacqueline Milne Multidisciplinary Research Collaboration Manager Research and Innovation Services
Graham Niblo Professor Mathematics
Matthew Nicholson Lecturer Law
Carmine Ornaghi Senior Lecturer Social Sciences: Economics
John Owen Professor Chemistry
James Pilgrim Lecturer Electronics and Computer Science
Derek Pletcher Professor Chemistry
Carlos Ponce De Leon Albarr Lecturer Engineering Sciences
Guy Poppy Professor Biological Sciences
William Powrie Professor Civil Engineering and the Environment
Emily Reid Senior Lecturer Law
Edward Richardson Research Staff Engineering Sciences
Giles Richardson Reader Mathematics
Paul Rouse Politics and International Relations Social Sciences
Tom Rushby Postgraduate Research Student Social Sciences
Clare Saunders Lecturer Social Sciences
John Shrimpton Senior Lecturer Engineering Sciences
Alison Simmance Multidisciplinary Research Co-ordinator Research and Innovation Services
Hilary Smith Head of Faculty Support Research and Innovation Services
Charlotte Stringer RSO Research and Innovation Services
Matthew Tallis Post Doc Biological Sciences
Alex Templeton Director The Farm Energy Project
Nick Townsend Research Fellow Civil Engineering and the Environment
Jack Townsend Web and Sustainability Webscience DTC
Stephen Turnock Reader Engineering Sciences
Mark Walker Research Fellow Civil Engineering and the Environment
Rebecca Wallbridge Research Fellow Social Sciences 
John Paul Williams RSO Research and Innovation Services
Richard Wills Research Fellow Engineering Sciences
Peter Wilson Academic Staff Electronics and Computer Science
Alexander Wright   Engineering and the Environment
Ian Wright Professor National Oceanography Centre
Matthew Wright Senior Lecturer Institute of Sound and Vibration Research
Zheng Tong Xie Professor Engineering Sciences
Huifu Xu Senior Lecturer Mathematics
Edward Young Lecturer Engineering Sciences
Antonios Zervos Senior Lecturer Engineering and the Environment 



A.Afful Postgraduate  
A. Nisar Postgraduate  
Chris Savory Postgraduate  
A. Voccia Postgraduate  
Alex Acheampong Postgraduate  
T.Rushby Postgraduate  
P.I. Rouse Postgraduate  
T.Abbam Postgraduate  
E. Allinson Postgraduate  
T. Vilcan Postgraduate  
S.S. Hegga Postgraduate  
R. Dave Postgraduate  
M.D. Joshua Postgraduate  
A.D. Chapman Postgraduate  
H.E. Smith Postgraduate  


Privacy Settings