Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
The University of Southampton
Southampton Law School

Law Summer Graduation and Prize Winners 2013

Published: 29 July 2013

Students from Southampton Law School were awarded their degrees on 18 July 2013 at the ceremony held in the Turner Sims venue, Highfield campus, University of Southampton.

University of Southampton Law Graduates 2013
Law graduation 2013

Each year prizes are awarded to first, second and final year undergraduate and LLM students in recognition of academic performance, with final year students receiving their prizes at the Graduation Reception.

Professor Hazel Biggs, and Head of the Southampton Law School said "The Law School is proud of the successes of all of its students and graduates, but it is particularly heartening to acknowledge the achievements of those who have distinguished themselves academically and with regard to the School's extra-curricular activities. I wish them all continued success in the future."

This year over 40 prizes were awarded to students, including LLM prizes awarded following the summer examinations, as well as a range of Southampton Law School prizes, and 16 sponsored prizes from individuals, families and organisations such as Gard, Coffin Mew, Holman Fenwick and Willan, Macfarlanes, Shoosmiths, Moore Blatch, Routledge, OUP, Sweet and Maxwell, Stephenson Harwood, Campbell Johnston Clark, Thomas Eggar and Beaumont Aviation.

Professor Hazel Biggs remarked "We would like to express our gratitude to the individuals, families and companies who so generously sponsor a significant number of these awards."

Southampton Law School prizes:

General prizes

Winston Churchill Memorial Prize (outstanding merit on LLB) - Stevie M Vella
Runners up to top final year student - Hayleigh Sears, Vijay Chohan, Hannah King
Swords Prize (best dissertations) - Stevie M Vella, Jacqueline Powell
Best performance on the accelerated degree programme – Balpreet Lailna
OUP Law Prize (outstanding performance) - Balpreet Lailna (finalist)

Best performance in the second year - Sarah M Pearson
Runners up to top second year student - Elisha Langridge, Oliver Saunders, Alexander J Hughes
Sweet & Maxwell Prize (best consistent performance, second year) – Alexander J Hughes
Shoosmiths Prize (best overall contribution, second year) - Maria Abdelmalak
Seymour J Gubb Prize (top first year student) - Zhihui Chen
Runners up to top first year student - Simon P Bland, Rachad Misheal, Mark Primrose, Patrick Martinez-Brown
Routledge Prize (best consistent performance in first year) - Simon P Bland

Subject-specific prizes

Macfarlanes Prize (Contract Law) - Zhihui Chen, Mark Primrose
Special commendation for best performance by a visiting student - Runhua Li
Shoosmiths Gerald Dworkin IP Prize - Alexander C Lumley
Poulter Prize (Family Law/Child Support) - Roberta Dalby
Holman, Fenwick & Willan Prize (Maritime Law) - Sue Vern Tan, Harshil Patel
Stephenson Harwood Prize (Employment Law) - Hannah King
Sally Kiff Prize (Human Rights) - Theodoros Economou, Vijay Chohan
Moore Blatch Equity & Trusts Prize - Elisha Langridge
Coffin Mew Prize (Property Law subjects) - Anna Vikulova (second year, property) and Stevie M Vella (final year, Housing Law)
Thomas Eggar Internal Mooting Prize - Jeunhsien Daniel Ho, Oliver Saunders

Last photo by the Law School on graduation
Last photo by the Law School
Recipient of the 'Contribution to the Law School' award
Lynsey Banthorpe Law graduate 2013

Gard Prize (Carriage of Goods by Sea) - Thea Thorstensen (LLM)
Campbell Johnston Clark Prize (International Trade & Carriage of Goods by Sea) - Evgenia Kanellopoulou and Tone Seth (LLM)

Beaumont Aviation Prize (Carriage of Goods by Air) - Edward Hails (LLM)
Thomas Eggar Prize (IT Law) - Petre Hristov (LLM)


In 2013 the Law School also launched an award scheme to acknowledge students' ‘Contribution to the Law School'. The inaugural winners from the undergraduate cohort are as follows:

Final Year
Anthony James Godden
Roberto Kehinde
Lyndsey Banthorpe
Kristian Foged
Osama Lone
Stevie Vella

Year Two
Dennis Oh
Maria Abdelmalak
Matt McCann
Karolina Aksamitowska
Celine Winham
Rovena Nagy
Lauren Hammond
Shannon Cross

Year One
Alexander Pirnak
Stefani Kriticou
Oyinkanlola Balogun-Ologolo

The nominations for LLM and PGR students will be announced here later this year.

Student testimonial: LLB graduate 2013
Dr Alexandros Ntovas celebrates his graduation with family
Dr Andrea Lista with graduating students
Prize sponsors
Prize sponsors
Prize sponsors
Prize sponsors
Privacy Settings