Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Medical Education

Winning ASPIRE team collect award

Published: 1 October 2014
A winning team

The team behind the Faculty’s successful 2014 ASPIRE Award travelled to Milan in September for the presentation of the award.

Southampton was the only medical school this year to receive the award for Student Engagement in the Curriculum and in the Medical School.

“We are delighted to win this award because it recognises we genuinely treat students as partners in their education,” said Dr Shelley Parr, Head of the Academic Unit of Medical Education, who led the application.

The other winners were the University of Leeds, for Excellence in Assessment, and Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada and the University of New Mexico, USA, for Excellence in Social Responsibility and Accountability.

Pictured with the award from left to right are Alex Oldman, Linda Turner, Kathy Kendall, June Abay and Shelley Parr. Further information about the ASPIRE awards can be found at

Privacy Settings