Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Medical Education

The 6th National Undergraduate Neuroanatomy Competition

Published: 9 April 2018
Clinical and Pre-Clinical Winners
Clinical and Pre-Clinical Winners

On Saturday 24th March, the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Southampton, in association with The Anatomical Society of Great Britain and Ireland hosted its much anticipated, sixth annual National Undergraduate Neuroanatomy Competition.

This year we had our highest ever turnout, with 127 medical students from across the UK and Ireland attending. The aim of the conference is to promote excellence, enhance the skills and inspire a new generation of budding neurologists, neuroscientists and psychiatrists.

Taking place at University Hospital Southampton, competitors sat both a single best answer exam and a specimen based neuroanatomy spotter. The winner for Pre-Clinical award was Omar Kouli (University of Dundee) and the winner of the Clinical award was Jordan Coleman (St George's, University of London). We would also like to make special mention of Southampton student Isabel Schulz who was one of the distinction award winners. We were honoured to have with us special guest speakers’ Consultant Neurosurgeon, Mr Vassilios Tsitouras (University of Southampton) and Professor David Baldwin (University of Southampton) who gave exhilarating lectures in the afternoon.

The event was coordinated by fourth year medical student, Matthew Myers, who worked with an enthusiastic team of students, faculty staff and clinicians. The competition has continued to go from strength to strength each year, attracting an increasing number of competitors. We would like to thank everyone who has supported and helped the event become a success particularly The Centre for Learning Anatomical Sciences, The Anatomical Society, Thieme, Wolters Kluwer, British Medical Association, Medical Defence Union, Dominos, Southampton and the Journal of Neurology, Neurosurgery, and Psychiatry.

Distinction Award Winners
Distinction Award Winners

Notes for editors

Report by NUNC committee member Wassim Merzougui

Privacy Settings