Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Medical Education

Medicine academics recognised for the quality of their teaching

Published: 13 July 2018

Congratulations to four Medicine academics who have received Teaching Awards recognising their inspirational, innovative or high-quality teaching.

The awards are made for teaching that is helping achieve the ambitions in the University’s strategy:

  • improving the quality of our education
  • building a reputation for delivering excellence and an exemplary student experience
  • contributing to the improvement of league table rankings and our reputation
  • developing graduates who are confident global citizens, equipped to make a positive contribution to the worldThe winners are:

Dr Clare Polack, Programme Lead BM(EU) - for her leadership of the international flagship European Bachelor of Medicine Programme run in partnership with a German healthcare provider that will see its first cohort of bilingual students graduate this year.

Dr Caroline Childs, Lecturer in Nutritional Sciences - for teaching excellence in BM5, BM6 and MSc Public Health, and for her outreach activities including inspiring school age children via LifeLab’s ‘Meet the Scientist’ sessions

Dr Judith Holloway, Director of Postgraduate Taught Programmes and Progamme Lead MSc Allergy - for excellence in education and in particular for her leadership since 2007 of the MSc Allergy Programme that provides translatable skills to improve the management of allergic disease worldwide.

Dr Siobhan Lynch, Senior Teaching Fellow - for the development and delivery of a highly innovative and engaging Personal Professional Development (PPD) module to all final year medical students across a large number of clinical teaching centres in the UK, Jersey and Germany.

Dr Ian Rodd was also jointly nominated for his work on the PPD module.

Dr Clare Polack was unanimously selected by the panel to be shortlisted for the single ‘best of the best’ Vice-Chancellor’s Teaching Award 2018 that will be awarded at a special evening in October.

Privacy Settings