Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Medical Education

Project Team and Key Contacts

A great variety of individuals were actively involved throughout the 'Beyond Competence' project.

The Research Team

The project had two principal investigators, Professor Faith Hill (Southampton) and Professor Trudie Roberts (Leeds); both are National Teaching Fellows. The project was managed by Dr Anja Timm (Southampton) who was also a co-applicant for the grant. The team was joined by Sue Kilminster, as a co-investigator (Leeds).

The two research fellows working on the project were Dr Regina Karousou (Southampton) and Dr Alison Ledger (Leeds). Stuart Ekberg, who worked at Southampton, left in 2011.


Project Advisors

A wide range of project advisors from Southampton, Leeds and elsewhere were consulted throughout the project.

Practice-based key individuals:

The following individuals facilitated the research in the profession specific settings. Through their involvement with the project, they will be able to take forward the findings within their professional groups, institutions and relevant NHS partners.


University of Southampton  
Dr Louise Dubras Faculty of Medicine
Professor Judith Lathlean Faculty of Health Sciences
Professor Mark Lutman Institute of Sound and Vibration Research (ISVR)
Kathy Owens Faculty of Health Sciences
University of Leeds  
Dr Nick Thyer School of Healthcare 
Dr Janet Hirst School of Healthcare  


Project Advisory Group

The project was also supported by the Advisory Group, which met regularly throughout the duration:

Stakeholder Post (for project duration)
Dr Oliver Corrado NHS Foundation Director, West Yorkshire Foundation School
Professor Michael Eraut Professor Emeritus of Education, University of Sussex
Professor Debra Humphris Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education), University of Southampton
Ms Rosalynd Jowett Associate Dean (Education), University of Southampton
Dr Vicky Osgood Postgraduate Dean for Wessex
Dr Megan Quentin-Baxter Director, MEDEV Subject Centre, Newcastle
Dr Margaret Sills Academic Director, Health Science and Practice Subject Centre, London
Dr Chris Stephens Associate Dean (Education and Student Experience), University of Southampton
Steve Outram Senior Advisor, Higher Education Academy (HEA)


Privacy Settings