The University of Southampton
Our Malaysia Campus

Postgraduate research opportunities

Thumbnail photo of Ivan T.Y. Ling

“Working towards a PhD at Southampton is a very enjoyable experience. I’ve found my supervisors to be incredibly supportive, providing feedback and advice constantly. ”

Ivan T.Y. Ling - PhD, Engineering and Environment

Our academic lecturers are currently working on a number of exciting research projects and there are opportunities available for PhD students and research assistants/interns to join them. Please contact the lecturers directly if you are interested in their research project and opportunity to pursue a postgraduate degree with us. Find out more about these projects below.

Name Discipline Title
Prof John McBride J.W.Mcbride@soton.ac.uk Mechanical

1. Low force sensing using Metal coated CNT surfaces. The project will follow on from a large UK study where a novel electrical contact material is used to sense low forces (<mN).

2. Low current switching performance of a MEM relay with novel Metal coated CNT surfaces.

3. The contact mechanics of structured and Carbon-Nano-Tube (CNT) surfaces for electrical applications

Prof Neil Stephen N.G.Stephen@soton.ac.uk Mechanical 1. Analysis of repetitive structures.
Assoc. Prof Dr Suhaila Sanip s.m.sanip@soton.ac.uk Mechanical 1. Thin film transparent graphene electrode for organic solar cells.

2. Functionalization of carbon nanotubes for energy applications.
Dr Low Siow Yong
Sy.Low@soton.ac.uk
Electrical and Electronics 1. Acoustic signal processing.
Dr Jo-Han Ng
J.Ng@soton.ac.uk
Mechanical / Chemical 1. Reaction Kinetics Mechanism of a Novel Enhanced-Mixing Transesterification for Biodiesel Production.

2. Combustion and Emissions Analysis of Biodiesel-Glycerol in Combustion Engines.

3. High-Yield 3rd Generation Biodiesel from Algae and Yeast.
Dr Khong Wui Gan K.W.Gan@soton.ac.uk Mechanical 1. Recycling fibre-reinforced composites for high-value structural applications.

2. Highly localised through-thickness compression loading and failure mechanism in composite laminates.

3. Experimental investigation and modelling of adgesively-bonded composite joints.

4. Contaminations and defects in bondlines of composite laminates.
Assoc. Prof Dr Mihai Rotaru
M.D.Rotaru@soton.ac.uk
Electrical and Electronics 1. Electromagnetic modelling, design and optimisation of HTS generator for wind turbine applications.

2. Fano resonances structures for label free bio and chemical sensing applications.

3. Electromagnetic Design and Optimization of Brushless Doubly-Fed Reluctance Machine for Wind Power Applications.

4. Future Vehicle Electrical Power Systems.
Assoc. Prof Dr Seung Hwan Won
S.Won@soton.ac.uk
Electrical and Electronics 1. Cell Search Schemes and Strategies for 5G Millimetre Wave Mobile Communication Systems.

2. Adaptive Beamforming and Spatial Multiplexing Schemes and Strategies for 5G Millimetre Wave Mobile Communication Systems.
Dr Pu Suan-Hui SuanHui.Pu@soton.ac.uk Mechanical/Electrical and Electronics/ Physics 1. Wearable sensors for health and lifestyle monitoring.

2. Other topics: MEMS sensors, energy harvesting, IoT for agriculture, IoT for smart cities.
Dr Lee Sze Sing ss.lee@soton.ac.uk Electrical and Electronics 1. Control of Power Converters for Distributed Renewable Power Generation System.

2. New Boost Power Inverter with Hybrid PWM for Efficient Renewable Distributed Generation.

3. Improved Direct Torque Control of Induction Motor Drive for Plug-in Electric Vehicle.
Dr Jing Huey Khor J.Khor@soton.ac.uk Electrical and Electronics 1. Design of electronic fingerprint of UHF RFID tag for counterfeit protection mechanism.

2. Development of indoor positioning system using RFID technology.
Dr Joseph J. Lifton
J.J.Lifton@soton.ac.uk
Mechanical 1. Artefact minimisation strategies for X-ray CT metrology via simulation.
Dr Lim Chee Shen C.S.Lim@soton.ac.uk Electrical and Electronics 1. Power Quality Improvement of the Future Smart Grid/Microgrid
Dr Grace Mei Ting Chai G.M.Chai@soton.ac.uk Electrical and Electronics 1. Thermally Stable Optoelectronic Devices.
Dr Kok Foo Ngai F.Kok@soton.ac.uk Aeronautics and Astronautics 1. Numerical and Experimental Investigation of Flow Separation in Diverging Tees
Dr Varun Thangamani V.Thangamani@soton.ac.uk Aeronautics and Astronautics 1. Oscillation Control in Cylindrical Cavity Flows

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.

×