Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
University of Southampton MalaysiaFoundation Year

Malaysia Campus Foundation Year - Academic Year 2019/2020

Semester 0 April (S0A) = 22 April 2019 – 12 July 2019
Semester 0 July (S0J) = 08 July 2019 – 27 September 2019
Semester 0 Sept (S0S) = 03 September 2019 - 27 September 2019
Semester 1 = 30 September 2019 – 24 January 2020
Semester 2 = 27 January 2020 – 05 June 2020

                                            

Teaching weekDatesActivitiesEFY Teaching Week
49 02 – 06 Sep 2019 Teaching Week
Semester 0 September Induction –
3rd Sep (Tues)
# Awal Muharram 01 Sep (Sun)
Replacement 02 Sep (Mon)
S0J/9
S0S/1
50 09 – 13 Sep 2019 Teaching Week
# Agong’s Birthday 9 Sep (Mon)
S0J/10
S0S/2
51 16 – 20 Sep 2019 Assessment Week
Teaching Week
# Malaysia Day 16 Sep (Mon)
S0J/11
S0S/3
52 23 – 27 Sep 2019 Semester break Teaching Week/ Assessment Week S0J/12 S0S/4

1

30 Sep – 04 Oct 2019 Teaching Week (Semester 1 starts) S1/1
2 07 – 11 Oct 2019 Teaching Week S1/2
3 14 – 18 Oct 2019 Teaching Week S1/3
4 21 – 25 Oct 2019 Teaching Week S1/4
5 28 Oct – 01 Nov 2019 Study Break
# Deepavali 27 Oct (Sun)*
Replacement 28 Oct (Mon)
S1/5
6 04 – 08 Nov 2019 Teaching Week S1/6
7 11 – 15 Nov 2019 Teaching Week S1/7
8 18 – 22 Nov 2019 Teaching Week S1/8
9 25 – 29 Nov 2019 Teaching Week S1/9
10 02 – 06 Dec 2019 Teaching Week S1/10
11  09 – 13 Dec 2019 Teaching Week  S1/11
12   16 – 20 Dec 2019 Teaching Week  S1/12
13  23 – 27 Dec 2019 Christmas Break
# Christmas 25 Dec (Wed)
 S1/13
14  30 Dec 2019 – 03 Jan
2020
Christmas Break
# New Year 1 Jan (Wed)
 S1/14
15  06 – 10 Jan 2020 Study Week  S1/15
16  13 – 17 Jan 2020 Semester 1 Exams  S1/16 – Exam Week
17 20 – 24 Jan 2020 Semester 1 exams
# Chinese New Year 25 ‐26 Jan (Sat &
Sun)
Replacement 27 Jan (Mon)
 S1/17 – Exam Week
18 27 Jan – 31 Jan 2020 Semester break  S2/1
19  03 – 07 Feb 2020 Teaching Week (Semester 2 starts)  S2/2
20  10 – 14 Feb 2020 Teaching Week  S2/3
21 17 – 21 Feb 2020 Teaching Week  S2/4
22 24 – 28 Feb 2020  Teaching Week   S2/5
23  02 – 06 Mar 2020  Teaching Week   S2/6
24 09 – 13 Mar 2020  Teaching Week   S2/7
25 16 – 20 Mar 2020  Teaching Week   S2/8
26  23 – 27 Mar 2020  Teaching Week
# Sultan Johor Birthday 23 Mar (Mon) 
 S2/9
27  30 Mar – 03 Apr 2020  Study Break   S2/10
28 06 – 10 Apr 2020  Teaching Week   S2/11
29 13 – 17 Apr 2020 Teaching Week  S2/12
30  20 – 24 Apr 2020  Teaching Week
Semester 0 April Induction 2020/2021*
# Awal Ramadhan 24 Apr (Fri)*
 S2/13
31 27 Apr – 01 May 2020  Teaching Week
# Labour Day 1 May (Fri)
 S2/14
32  04 – 08 May 2020  Study Week
# Wesak Day 7 May (Thurs)
 S2/15
33  11 – 15 May 2020  Study Week  S2/16
34  18 – 22 May 2020  Semester 2 exams  S2/17 Exams
35  25 – 29 May 2020  Semester 2 exams
# Hari Raya Puasa 24 ‐ 25 May (Sat &
Sun)*
Replacement 26 May (Mon)
 S2/18 Exams
36  01 – 05 Jun 2020  Semester 2 exams  S2/19 Exams
   29 Jun – 07 Aug 2020*  Project – Sept Intake  
  17– 28 Aug 2020  Exam re‐sit  
END

 

 

*subject to confirmation/change

 


JOHOR STATE PUBLIC HOLIDAY 2019/2020

May 2019 01 May (Wed) Labour Day
  06 May (Mon)* Awal Ramadhan
  19 May (Sun) Wesak Day – Replacement leave on Monday, 20 May
June 2019 05 Jun (Wed)* Hari Raya Puasa – Day 1
  06 Jun (Thurs)* Hari Raya Puasa – Day 2
August 2019 11 Aug (Sun)* Hari Raya Haji - Replacement leave on Monday, 12 Aug
  31 Aug (Sat) National Day - No replacement leave
September 2019 01 Sep (Sun) Awal Muharram - Replacement leave on Monday, 02 Sep
  09 Sep (Mon) Agong’s Birthday
  16 Sep (Mon) Malaysia Day
October 2019 05 Oct (Sat) Almarhum Johor Hol Day - No replacement leave 
  27 Oct (Sun)*  Deepavali - Replacement leave on Monday, 28 Oct 
November 2019 09 Nov (Sat)  Prophet Muhammad’s Birthday - No replacement leave 
December 2019 25 Dec (Wed)  Christmas 
January 2020  01 Jan (Wed)  New Year 
  25 Jan (Sat)  Chinese New Year – Day 1 
  26 Jan (Sun) Chinese New Year – Day 2 - Replacement leave on Monday,
27 Jan 
February 2020  08 Feb (Sat)  Thaipusam - No replacement leave 
March 2020  23 Mar (Mon) Sultan Johor Birthday 
April 2020  24 Apr (Fri) *  Awal Ramadhan 
May 2020  01 May (Fri)  Labour Day 
  07 May (Thurs)  Wesak Day 
  24 May (Sat)*  Hari Raya Puasa – Day 1 
  25 May (Sun)*  Hari Raya Puasa – Day 2 Replacement leave on Monday, 26
May 

 

*subject to confirmation/change

Useful Downloads

Need the software?PDF Reader
Privacy Settings