Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
The University of Southampton
Global Network for Anti-Microbial Resistance and Infection Prevention

2nd Global-NAMRIP conference to be held in Kampala, Uganda

Published: 12 February 2019
Sample transfer via motorbike
Transfer of samples as part of National Specimen Referral Network in Uganda

On 4-7 March 2019, the 2nd Global-NAMRIP conference will be held in Kampala, Uganda.

This follows on the 1st Global NAMRIP conference that was held in March 2018 in Accra, Ghana, highlights of which included discussion on the importance of developing national strategies for AMR. At the 2nd Global NAMRIP conference, in addition to technical talks, Global-NAMRIP’s discussion of national strategies will continue with presentations from 7 countries on their national strategies: Uganda, Liberia, Malawi, Kenya, Ghana, Ethiopia and the UK. This will allow comparisons and assessments to be made, and for developments in one country to be placed in context of another country.

The theme of the conference is ‘ Innovations towards combating antimicrobial resistance: a whole society engagement ’. Delegates across a range of disciplines (healthcare, animal husbandry, food supply, water suppliers, and chemists and engineers researching new rapid diagnostic tools and therapies, and social scientists who examine our behaviour in responding to the AMR crisis) will present this ‘ whole society engagement ’.

Global-NAMRIP will fully fund around 80 delegates from the above countries to attend (including flights, registration, accommodation etc.), plus delegates from the UK NAMRIP network from Southampton and Newcastle Universities. This was possible because of a GCRF grant won by Professor Leighton (Founder of Global-NAMRIP, Chair of the conference Scientific Committee), Dr Clint Styles and Yvonne Richardson (respectively, Operations and Administrative Managers for NAMRIP).

The conference is being organized through Makerere University by Professor Nazarius Mbona Tumwesigye and Dr Henry Kajumbula (respectively, Chair and co-Chair of the Organising Committee) and Prof Fred Wabwire-Mangen (co-Chair of the Scientific Committee) and Dr Esther Buregyeya (member, Organising Committee).

Abstracts should be emailed to Ms Max Walusimbi (email:, who is the administrative support in Uganda by 20 February 2019.

Useful Downloads


Administration: Ms Max Walusimbi  email:

Chair Organising committee: Professor Nazarius Mbona Tumwesigye, Assoc Prof Dept Epidemiology and Biostatistics, Makerere University School of Public Health  email:   tel: +256-782-447771

Co-Chair organizing committee:  Dr Henry Kajumbula, Head Dept of Microbiology & chair National Anti-macrobial Resistance Committee, Makerere University email: /  tel: +256-772-490268

Chair Scientific Committee: Prof Timothy Leighton: FRS FREng FMedSci ScD, Faculty of Engineering and the Environment, University of Southampton, UK     email:   tel: +44(0)23 8059 2331

Co-chair Scientific Committee: Prof Fred Wabwire-Mangen, MbChB, MPH, DTM,PhD  Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics  email:   tel: +256-772732206

Executive Assistant to Professor Leighton: Yvonne Richardson, University of Southampton, UK  email  tel: +44(0)23 80594943

Organising Committee Members include: Dr Esther Buregyeya, Chair Department of Disease Control and Environmental Health, School of Public health(SPH),  Dr Dorothy Okello of the College of Engineering, Design, Arts & Technology(CEDAT), Ms Cissie Namanda of the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics, School of Public health - All from Makerere University and Mr  Ibrahim Mugerwa from Anti-Microbial Resistance surveillance unit, Ministry of Health Uganda.

Privacy Settings