Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
The University of Southampton

Leading Southampton academics elected as Royal Academy fellows

Published: 14 July 2011

Two leading Southampton academics were elected as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering at the Academy’s AGM in London this week.

Andy Keane, Professor of Computational Engineering and Director of the Rolls-Royce University Technology Centre for Computational Engineering, and Harvey Rutt, Rank Professor of Infrared Science and Technology, were elected as Fellows in recognition of their contribution to engineering.

Professor Keane is distinguished for his research in the field of aerospace design, with over 200 articles and four books on the subject. He founded the UK’s largest research group dedicated to computational aerospace design and has successfully commercialised his research.

Professor Keane says: “Over the last 16 years we have built a terrific group of aerospace design researchers at Southampton in collaboration with Rolls-Royce and others. This award really recognises the hard work and commitment of that wider group and I am very pleased that the activity has been recognised in this way.”

Professor Rutt has made a lifetime of outstanding research contributions to electro-optical research and development in laser technology for industrial application. Significantly he has been responsible for leading a major recovery and rebuild of the award-winning £100 million Mountbatten building, a national research facility for optoelectronics and micro and nanotechnology at the University of Southampton, which was destroyed by fire in 2005.

Professor Harvey Rutt

Professor Rutt says: “I am honoured by the award of this prestigious Fellowship. An award of this kind also recognises many contributions - from colleagues, collaborators here and abroad, students and research assistants who all played a part. As an experimentalist I would highlight especially the contribution of the many laboratory technicians, workshop staff and indeed secretaries who have supported my work; without them it could not have happened.”

Professor Don Nutbeam, Vice-Chancellor at the University of Southampton, adds: “I am delighted for Andy Keane and Harvey Rutt. Their election as Fellows of the Royal Academy of Engineering is well deserved recognition for long and distinguished careers in engineering. Both continue to ensure that Southampton remains a leading force for engineering research and education in the UK.”

Sir William Wakeham, KB FREng, Emeritus Professor and former Vice-Chancellor at the University of Southampton, was also confirmed as the Academy's Senior Vice President.

A total of 59 new Fellows joined the Academy, representing the most eminent names in the profession from the UK and overseas. In total, 50 UK Fellows have been elected with six International Fellows and three Honorary Fellows.

Privacy Settings