Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Quality Handbook

External Research Degrees Committee

Terms of reference

(i) To make decisions on the admission, candidature, progress and examination of all candidates for research degrees in the Accredited Institutions, within the academic areas approved for this purpose by the University.

(ii) To assure attainment of our academic standards and an equivalent student experience of candidates through appropriate quality assurance procedures in accordance with the University's Regulations and Code of Practice for Research Candidature and Supervision which govern such candidature.

(iii) To report to the Academic Quality and Standards Committee (AQSC) on (i) and (ii) above, and on related issues.


In December 2018 it was agreed that AQSC will recommend to Senate that the External Research Degrees Committee be held in abeyance.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.