Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Sustainability Action

2014 Student-Staff Team Award

Read more about the winner and runner up of the 2014 Sustainability Action Award for a Student-Staff Partnership Team.

SUSU Sustainability Zone Members
SUSU Sustainability Zone Members

Winner: SUSU Sustainability Zone

Team members: Beckie Thomas, Nickola Moore, Teresa Kennard, Wild Bottomley, Charlotte Hollands, Tom Gleeson.

In 2012/13, student officers indicated a strong demand for more fully embedding sustainability, a core value, within SUSU. As part of SUSu's new zone plan from 2013 onwards, the Sustainability Zone was created. Its purpose is to ensure a balance of social environmental and economic development within SUSU and for its members.

The Sustainability Zone aims to bring together students who are passionate about the range of areas that contribute to a more sustainable student life; the environment, ethics, employability and equality.

It will empower students to be part of a leading union in environmental action and campaigning. The Zone will seek to unlock the potential of every student by equipping them with skills that will increase their employability.


Runner up: Waste Wars Team

Team members: Mike Travers, Neil Smith, Sophia Knight, Simon Kemp, Ian Carroll, Julia Kendal.

Each year for the last eight years, a group of over 60 students have been joined by staff from Civil Engineering and the Environment and Estates & Facilities to spend an afternoon sorting through the University's waste.

The resulting data is used to Estates & Facilities in measuring performance and decision-making for future marketing, training and operations. It has also helped shape the University's waste strategy to increase recycling. 

Students are given a volunteering opportunity as well as gaining practical experience to add to their CVs.

Privacy Settings