Skip to main navigation Skip to main content
The University of Southampton
TAG 2016 Southampton

About TAG

The Theoretical Archaeology Group (TAG) was founded as a national body in 1979 with the aim of promoting debate and discussion of issues in theoretical archaeology. Its principal activity is the promotion of an annual conference, traditionally held in December and organised so as to be accessible at low cost to research students and others.

TAG conferences have sparked some of the most inventive archaeological articles published in venues such as Archaeological Dialogues , Antiquity and the Journal of Social Archaeology . Sibling branches of the organisation were founded in Scandinavia in 2000, and in the United States in 2008. Local TAG conferences have also been established in more recent years in Turkey and the Czech Republic.

TAG is managed and steered by a National Committee that meets annually and comprises a representative from each of the university departments that have hosted a TAG Conference. Convening and organizing National Committee meetings, and administering TAG finances, is the duty of the TAG Trustees who are:

TAG 2016 organizing committee

Coordinators - Penny Copeland and Marta Diaz-Guardamino

50th Anniversary Event - Andrew M. Jones and Joshua Pollard

50th Anniversary Photo Exhibition - Chloe Belard, Kris Strutt and David Wheatley

Conference Pack - Peter Bye-Jensen and Penny Copeland

Second hand book stall - Nuria Garcia-Casacuberta and Stephanie Evelyn-Wright

Sightations exhibition - Helen Chittock, Grant Cox, Eleonora Gandolfi, Emilia Mataix-Ferrandiz, Kate Rogers and Joana Valdez-Tullett

Social Media - Peter Bye-Jensen, Catriona Cooper, James Miles, Paul Reilly, Tim Sly and Eleanor Williams

Sponsorships, Bookstalls and Exhibitors - Chris Standish

Student Coordinator - Katherine Crawford

TAG Email - Penny Copeland, Katherine Crawford, Marta Diaz-Guardamino and Joana Valdez-Tullet

TAG Market - Penny Copeland and Jude Jones

TAG Pop-up-Bar - Julian Whitewright

TAG Party - Duncan Brown, Catriona Cooper, Helen Chittock, Sam Griffiths, Emilia Mataix-Ferrandiz, Camilla Moore and Tim Sly

Timetable - Ing-Marie Back Danielsson, Penny Copeland, Marta Diaz-Guardamino, Andrew M. Jones and Joshua Pollard

Website - Marta Diaz-Guardamino, Paul Reilly and Fraser Sturt

TAG 2016 scientific committee

Ing-Marie Back Danielsson

Duncan Brown

Peter Bye-Jensen

Penny Copeland

Marta Diaz-Guardamino

Andrew M. Jones

Joshua Pollard

Kate Rogers

Chris Standish

Joana Valdez-Tullett

Eleanor Williams

TAG 2016 sponsors

Chartered Institute for Archaeologists
Virtual umbrella
Allied Associates
Royal Anthropological Institute
Privacy Settings