Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
TAG 2016 Southampton

50th Anniversary event

50 years of Archaeology at Southampton: Personal Histories

Renfrew Warhol

Archaeology was established at Southampton in 1966 with the appointment of Barry Cunliffe as the first Chair. 1967 saw the first intake of undergraduate students. Through its 50-year history the Department has often been at the forefront of development in archaeological theory, and, through events such as the first World Archaeological Congress, the centre of debates about the contemporary value of the past and its political constitution.

To celebrate the first 50 years, illustrious alumni (both former staff and students) and current members of the Department with ‘history’ will openly debate the Southampton story. Discussants include Tim Darvill, Clive Gamble, David Hinton, Simon Keay, Yvonne Marshall, Stephanie Moser, Mike Parker Pearson, Colin Renfrew and Roger Thomas.

The 50th Anniversary Event is being organized by Joshua Pollard and Andrew M. Jones.

Privacy Settings