Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
The Alan Turing Institute

Southampton academics named as Fellows of The Alan Turing Institute

Published: 19 December 2018
Southampton Turing Fellows
Southampton Turing Fellows

Nineteen leading academics from the University of Southampton have joined The Alan Turing Institute as Fellows.

They will work across the Institute’s different research challenges and will bring to the Institute specific projects covering topics from machine learning for space physics to AI and inclusion. They will also contribute to the activities and training at the core of the Institute’s mission and the ongoing development of the next generation of researchers.

The full list of Southampton Turing Fellows includes:

  • Dr Cristian Bravo, Decision Analytics and Risk
  • Professor Jacek Brodzki, Mathematical Sciences
  • Dr Nicholas Fuggle, MRC Lifecourse Epidemiology Unit
  • Dr Thomas Gernon, Ocean and Earth Science
  • Dr Philip Greulich, Mathematical Sciences
  • Dr Caitriona Jackman, Physics & Astronomy
  • Dr George Konstantinidis, Electronics & Computer Science
  • Professor Ben MacArthur, Medicine and Social Sciences (joint appointment)
  • Dr Thomas Monks, Health Sciences
  • Dr Helen Ogden, Mathematical Sciences and S3RI
  • Professor Hou-Duo Qi, Mathematical Sciences
  • Professor Sarvapali Ramchurn, Electronics & Computer Science
  • Dr Faisal Rezwan, Human Development & Health
  • Professor Elena Simperl, Electronics and Computer Science*
  • Professor Peter WF Smith, Social Statistics and Demography*
  • Professor Marika Taylor, Mathematical Sciences
  • Professor Mike Wald, Electronics & Computer Science
  • Professor David Woods, Mathematical Sciences and S3RI
  • Dr Alain Zemkoho, Mathematical Sciences


* - Turing University Leads for Southampton

Full biographies and information about the new Turing Fellows are available here.

Privacy Settings