Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Unison

UNISON Branch Officers

The University of Southampton UNISON Branch is run by an elected committee of members.

Becoming a Branch Officer is a great way to learn and develop important skills; improve your workplace; strengthen your CV and gain new rewarding experiences. We are very keen to recruit and would love to have you on board.

Current Officers

Please contact relevant Branch Officers directly by email or through the Branch Office - Unison@soton.ac.uk

Role 

Duties

Officer 1

Officer 2

Branch Chair

 Facilitates branch and committee meetings.

Francesca Lambert (F.Lambert@soton.ac.uk

 

Branch Secretary

Responsible for branch activities, organisation, recruiting, negotiating and engaging with University Management Team.

Gwen Gordon (G.Gordon@soton.ac.uk)

 

Casework Co-ordinator 

Co-ordinates cases coming into the Branch. 

Francesca Lambert

(F.Lambert@soton.ac.uk

 

 Treasurer 

Manages branch finances including keeping accounts. 

Sam Johnson

(S.G.Johnson@soton.ac.uk)

 

Health & Safety Officers 

Oversees health and safety issues. 

Gwen Gordon (G.Gordon@soton.ac.uk)

Mark Gowland-Pryde
(M.R.Gowland-Pryde@soton.ac.uk)

Pensions Representative

Oversees pension related issues

Adrian Dolby
(N.A.Dolby@soton.ac.uk)

 

Equalities Officer 

Works on equal rights issues including sex, race, disability, lesbian and gay issues. 

David Caplin

(D.J.Caplin@soton.ac.uk)

 

LGBT Rep  

Provides support for LGBT members and takes the lead on any issues specific to them. LGBT members can contact the rep directly. 

David Caplin

(D.J.Caplin@soton.ac.uk

 

Black Members Representative

Provides support for Black and Asian members and takes the lead on any issues specific to them. Members can contact the reps directly. 

Gwen Gordon (G.Gordon@soton.ac.uk

 

Branch Disabilities Representative

Provides support for members who have disabilities including neuro-disability. 

Katherine Day

(K.Day@soton.ac.uk

 

Branch Young Members' Officer

Provides support for young members (under 27) and ensures their voices are have influence across the union

Vacant Position

 

Interested in becoming a Branch Officer?

If any of the vacant roles are of interest to you, please contact the Branch Office - unison@soton.ac.uk.

Vacant roles include:

Privacy Settings