The University of Southampton
Unison

UNISON Branch Officers

The University of Southampton UNISON Branch is run by an elected committee of members.

Becoming a Branch Officer is a great way to learn and develop important skills; improve your workplace; strengthen your CV and gain new rewarding experiences. We are very keen to recruit and would love to have you on board.

Current Officers

Please contact relevant Branch Officers directly by email or through the Branch Office - Unison@soton.ac.uk

Role DutiesOfficer 1Officer 2
Branch Chair  Facilitates branch and committee meetings. Francesca Lambert (F.Lambert@soton.ac.uk  
Branch Secretary Responsible for branch activities, organisation, recruiting, negotiating and engaging with University Management Team. Gwen Gordon (G.Gordon@soton.ac.uk)  
Assistant Branch Secretary Provides administrative support and deal with membership enquiries. Austine Abiagam (A.F.Abiagam@soton.ac.uk)  
Branch Casework Co-ordinator  Co-ordinates cases coming into the Branch.  Francesca Lambert
(F.Lambert@soton.ac.uk
 
Branch Treasurer  Manages branch finances including keeping accounts.  Vacant Role  
Branch Communication Officer  Oversees communications and newsletters.  Lena Munday (L.Munday@soton.ac.uk  
Branch Health & Safety Officers  Oversees health and safety issues.  Jonathan Chipp (J.Chipp@soton.ac.uk

Gwen Gordon
(G.Gordon@soton.ac.uk)

Mark Gowland-Pryde
(M.R.Gowland-Pryde@soton.ac.uk)

Equalities Officer  Works on equal rights issues including sex, race, disability, lesbian and gay issues.  David Caplin
(D.J.Caplin@soton.ac.uk)
 
Branch LGBT Rep   Provides support for LGBT members and takes the lead on any issues specific to them. LGBT members can contact the rep directly.  David Caplin
(D.J.Caplin@soton.ac.uk
 
Black Members Reps  Provides support for Black and Asian members and takes the lead on any issues specific to them. Members can contact the reps directly.  Austine Abiagam (A.F.Abiagam@soton.ac.uk Gwen Gordon (G.Gordon@soton.ac.uk)  
Branch Disabilities Reps  Provides support for members who have disabilities including neuro-disability.  Katherine Day
(K.Day@soton.ac.uk
Rhian Edwards
(R.M.Edwards@soton.ac.uk)
Branch Welfare Officer Provides support for members experiencing financial and emotional difficulties

Catherine Howe
(C.Howe@soton.ac.uk)

 

 

Interested in becoming a Branch Officer?

If any of the vacant roles are of interest to you, please contact the Branch Office - unison@soton.ac.uk.

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.

×