Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Web Science Institute


Following completion of their studies, our iPhD Web Science graduates have pursued careers in a range of fields including academia, government, corporate organisations and consultancy. See a full list of our Alumni and their current roles below.

Keeping in touch

If you are a CDT Web Science Alumnus and would like to update the information below or share your CDT student experience, we'd love to hear from you. To do this, please complete our Profile form.

NameCurrent RoleCompanyYear
Chris AdetunjiIASME Governance and Technical Cyber AuditorFORTI5 Technologies (PVT) Ltd2018
Fatmah AkeelCybersecurity Advisor 2017
Nada Al BunniFounderCulture Entanglement Ltd2020
Reham Al TamineResearcherQatar Computing Research Institute2020
Craig AllisonLecturer of PsychologySolent University2016
Nora AlrajebahDirector of Digital Innovation Unit, Entrepreneur InstituteKing Saud University, Saudi Arabia2018
Mark AndersonDirectorShoantel Ltd2021
Jacqueline Ayling  Pending
Norhidayah AzmanSenior Lecturer, Faculty of Science and TechnologyUniversiti Sains Islam Malaysia2014
James Baker  2017
Gareth BeestonManaging DirectorOther World Escapes2018
Nick BennettAnalystUK Government2020
Reuben BinnsAssociate Professor, Department of Computer ScienceUniversity of Oxford2016
Rob BlairLecturer in Computer ScienceUniversity of East Anglia2018
Tom BlountResearcher, School of Electronics and Computer ScienceUniversity of Southampton2018
Paul BoothProduct ManagerMPC2019
Ian BrownManaging Technical ConsultantOracle UK, Netsuite2017
Gunawan Budi PrasetyoLecturer, Department of InformaticsState Polytechnic of Malange2019
Maire Byrne-EvansSenior Research ScientistUK Government2021
Christopher Cave  2015
Elizabeth Coskun  2018
Emma Cradock  2022
Huw DaviesResearcher, Oxford Internet InstituteUniversity of Oxford2015
Michael DayLecturer, CommunicationsPapa University, Thailand2019
Conrad D'SouzaQuantitative AnalystWellcome Trust2020
Jean-Remy DubocSenior Analytics EngineerEstee Lauder Companies2013
Roushdat ElaheebocusSenior Lecturer, Digital TechnologiesUniversity of Mauritius2018
Maire Evans  2021
Gemma FitzsimmonsResearch Information AnalystUniversity of Southampton2016
Huw FryerConsultantHiQ2016
Richard (Will) FysonSoftware Developer, CoSectorUniversity of London2017
Jennifer GaskellSenior Research FellowUniversity of Southampton2019
Paul GaskellVice President, Machine Learning EngineeringBlackRock2016
Laura German  2016
Edward Gillbard  pending
Richard GomerProduct DirectorConsentua2018
Briony GrayResearch FellowUniversity of Southampton2019
Lawrence GreenData ScientistKambi2018
Caroline Halcrow  2021
Faranak HardcastleResearch Fellow, Wellcome Centre for Human GeneticsUniversity of Oxford2019
Matt Healey  2015
Sarah HewittTeaching Fellow, School of Electronics and Computer ScienceUniversity of Southampton2020
Mary HoustonFaculty Administrative OfficerUniversity of Southampton2016
Christopher HughesData ScientistAccenture2018
Ryan Javanshir  2022
Samantha KanzaSenior Enterprise FellowUniversity of Southampton2018
Sarosh KhanDirectorHSM Advisory2016
Sophia Kitromili  2021
Christos KoumenidesJavascript EngineerAutomattic2014
Alison KnightHead of Research Integrity & GovernanceUniversity of Southampton2019
William LawrenceData Science LecturerGoldsmiths, University of London2018
Manuel Leon-UrrutiaSenior Teaching FellowUniversity of Southampton2019
Justyna LisinskaPolicy Research FellowKings College London2021
Dola Majekodunmi  2021
Vincent Marmion  2021
David Matthews  2017
Rafael Melgarejo HerediaLecturerPontificia Universidad Católica del Ecuador2019
Neil McEwan  2017
Nathaniel McInnes  2021
Cathy Morgan  pending
Joanna MunsonSenior Executive Officer, High Education AnalysisDepartment for Education2020
Rebecca Nash  2017
Russell Newman ResearcherUniversity of Southampton2015 
ConsultantRussell Newman Consulting
Terhi Nurmikko-FullerSenior Lecturer in Digital HumanitiesAustralian National University2015
Jessica OgdenDigital SpecialistL-P: Archaeology2020
Tim O'RiordanResearch in Education, Teaching and Learning DevelopmentPlumpton College2018
Amy Page (Lynch)Account DirectorSynergy Healthcare Research Ltd2019
Martina Patone  2020
Oliver Parson Senior Data Scientist 2014
Sophie ParsonsProject ManagerSonin2019
Jarutas Andritsch (Pattanaphanchai)LecturerComputing Solent University 20142014
Brian ParkinsonDirectorOpen Rights Group2018
Bartosz Paszcza  2021
Henry Pearce  2020
Javier PeredaLecturer in Design and Illustration, Liverpool School of Art & DesignLiverpool John Moores University2018
Christopher PhetheanSenior Policy Advisor, Department for Digital, Culture, Media and SportUK Government2015
Olivier PhillipeResearch EngineerBarcelona Supercomputing Centre2018
Alan Ponce-RodriguezResearch And Development Specialist Applying Data ScienceThincrs2020
Igor PopovSenior Technical Product ManagerWonderBill2013
Maria PriestleyResearch Associate, Department of InformaticsKing's College London2021
Neal ReevesResearch AssociateKing's College London2019
Elzabi RimingtonGame DesignerEscape Hunt UK2018
Kieran Rones  2020
Michael SakerLecturer in Media and Communications City University of London2015
Mike SanterBluPoint Founding Director & CTOBluPoint2013
Adjunct ProfessorUniversity of Canberra
Farhana SarkerCo-Founder and Managing DirectorCMED Health2015
Anna SelwayData Team LeadZupa Tech Ltd2021
Jonathan ScottSoftware EngineerGoogle2017
Nicole SmithLecturer in Information Studies, School of HumanitiesUniversity of Glasgow2016
Lisa SugiuraSenior Lecturer in Criminology and CybercrimeUniversity of Portsmouth2016
Keisha Taylor WesselinkResearcherHuman Sciences Studio, Accenture2020
Andy ThompsonAnalytics and Data Science ConsultantPublicis Sapient2016
Robert Thorburn  pending
Chira TochiaDigital Marketing AssistantTrafalgar Releasing2021
Jack TownsendDigital Product Manager 2018
Gefion ThuermerResearch FellowUniversity of Southampton2019
Niko TsakalakisSenior Research FellowUniversity of Southampton2020
Ramine TinatiManaging DirectorApplied Intelligence, Accenture2015
Gert Jan Van HardeveldTactical Cyber Investigator SpecialistFIOD2018
Eamonn Walls  2017
Johanna WalkerResearch FellowUniversity of Southampton2021
Clare WalshHead of EducationInstitute of Analytics2020
Jack WebsterUser ResearcherSpotify2019
Peter WestSynthaceSoftware Engineer2020
Anna WestonDigital AnalystHargreaves Lansdown2019
Steven WhiteAcademic Practice and Development Manager, Academic and Student ServicesArts University Bournemouth2019
Yang YangDirectoriamResearcher Limited2015
Jiadi YaoFounder and CTOSigma Squares (Beijing) Tech Co., Ltd.2015
Michael YipSecurity Engineer, Intelligence & Insights (i2)Facebook2016
Aristea ZafeiropoulouSenior Research ScientistKonnecta Systems Limited2015


image by jcomp, courtesy of freepik

Alumni Profiles

Discover why our students chose to study Web Science, what they are doing following graduation.

research projects

Our Research

Find out about some of the research projects our alumni and current students have undertaken.

PDF download

Leading the Way with Web Science

Find out more about the CDT and some of the ways in which our students are working with industry during their interneships and why the chose the CDT at Southampton.

Privacy Settings