The University of Southampton
Web Science Institute

Our Staff

The iPhD Web Science is an interdisciplinary programme that involves staff from a wide range of different academic departments.  Below are details of staff who have taught on the MSc training year and who have supervised iPhD Web Science students.

Faculty of Business, Law and Art

NameAcademic UnitTeaching Staff/Supervisor
Dr David BaxterSouthampton Business School Supervisor
Professor Johnnie JohnsonSouthampton Business School Supervisor
Professor Michelle LoweSouthampton Business School Supervisor
Dr Tiejun MaSouthampton Business School Supervisor
Professor Frank MCGroartySouthampton Business School Supervisor
Professor Ming-Chien SungSouthampton Business School  Supervisor 
Dr Vadim GrinevichSouthampton Law School Supervisor
Dr Michael O'FloinnSouthampton Law School Supervisor
Dr Remigius NwabeuezeSouthampton Law School Supervisor
Dr Eleonora RosatiSouthampton Law School Supervisor
Dr Sophie Stalla-BourdillonSouthampton Law School Supervisor
Dr Yuanyuan YinSouthampton Law School Supervisor


Faculty of Humanities

NameAcademic UnitTeaching Staff/Supervisor
 Dr David BrethertonMusic Supervisor
Professor Anne CurryHistory Supervisor
Dr Yvonne MarshallArchaeology Supervisor
Professor Mary OrrModern Languages Supervisor
Ms Julie WatsonModern Languages Supervisor


Faculty of Health Sciences

NameAcademic UnitTeaching Staff/Supervisor
Dr Richard GiordanoHealth Sciences Supervisor
Professor Mary GobbiHealth SciencesSupervisor
Professor Catherine PopeHealth Sciences Supervisor

Faculty of Medicine

NameAcademic UnitTeaching Staff/Supervisor
Dr Angela FenwickMedical EducationSupervisor
Professor Anneke LucassenMedical EducationSupervisor
Professor Jeremy WyattWessex InstituteSupervisor

Faculty of Natural and Environmental Sciences

NameAcademic UnitTeaching Staff/Academic
Professor Gail TaylorBiological SciencesSupervisor
Professor Jeremy FreyChemistrySupervisor

Faculty of Physical Sciences and Engineering

NameAcademic UnitTeaching Staff/Supervisor
Professor Leslie CarrElectronics and Computer Science Teaching Staff/Supervisor
Professor Hugh DavisElectronics and Computer Science Teaching Staff/Supervisor
Dr Sarah FieldingElectronics and Computer Science Supervisor
Enrico GerdingElectronics and Computer Science Supervisor
Dr Nicholas GibbinsElectronics and Computer ScienceTeaching Staff/Supervisor
Professor Wendy HallElectronics and Computer Science Supervisor
Professor Kirk MartinezElectronics and Computer Science Supervisor
Dr Dave MillardElectronics and Computer Science Teaching Staff/Supervisor
Dr Kieron O'HaraElectronics and Computer Science Teaching Staff/Supervisor
Professor Adam Prugel-BennettElectronics and Computer ScienceSupervisor
Professor Vladimiro SassoneElectronics and Computer Science Supervisor
Professor Elena SimperlElectronics and Computer Science Supervisor
Dr Thanassis TiropanisElectronics and Computer Science Teaching Staff/Supervisor
Professor Mike WaldElectronics and Computer Science Supervisor
Richard WatsonElectronics and Computer ScienceSupervisor
Dr Mark WealElectronics and Computer ScienceTeaching Staff/Supervisor 
Dr Su WhiteElectronics and Computer Science Teaching Staff/Supervisor
Dr Gary WillsElectronics and Computer Science Supervisor
Dr George KonstantinidisElectronics and Computer ScienceSupervisor

Faculty of Social, Human and Mathematical Sciences

NameAcademic UnitTeaching Staff/Supervisor
Dr Brian HracsGeography and the Environment Supervisor 
Dr Thomas KemenyGeography and the Environment Supervisor 
Professor David MartinGeography and the Environment Supervisor 
Richard TrevesjameGeography and the Environment Supervisor 
Professor James AndersonMathematical Sciences Supervisor 
Dr Ruben Sanchez-GarciaMathematical Sciences Supervisor 
Denis DrieghePsychology Supervisor 
Dr Erich GrafPsychology Supervisor 
Dr Leanne MorrisonPsychology Supervisor 
Dr Jane PrichardPsychology Supervisor 
Dr Ed RedheadPsychology Supervisor 
Professor Lucy YardleyPsychologySupervisor
Dr Spryros GalanisSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Professor Susan HalfordSocial SciencesTeaching Staff/Supervisor 
Jennifer HollandSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Will JenningsSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Pauline LeonardSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Traute MeyerSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Justin MurphySocial Sciences Supervisor 
Gethin ReesSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Silke RothSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Bindi ShahSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Peter SmithSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Gerry StokerSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Charlie WalkerSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Craig WebberSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Jeff VassSocial Sciences Supervisor 
Christian BokhoveSouthampton Education School Supervisor 
Julie-Ann EdwardsSouthampton Education School Supervisor 
John SchulzSouthampton Education School Supervisor 
John WoollardSouthampton Education School Supervisor 

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.