Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Web Science Institute

Web Science Institute Distinguished Lecture Series

We run a series of distinguished lectures and seminars from leading experts around the globe offering opportunities for our staff and students to benefit from wide-ranging academic and industry expertise.

Upcoming Lectures

Updates will be posted here.

Past lectures

Professor Phil Howard

Philip Howard

Director and Professor of Internet Studies at the Oxford Internet Institute

Professor Rob Kitchin

Rob Kitchin

Professor at the Maynooth University Social Science Institute

Professor Alex Rehding

Alex Rehding

Fanny Peabody Professor of Music at Harvard University

Professor Richard Rogers

Richard Rogers

Professor of New Media and Digital Culture at the University of Amsterdam

Mireille Hildebrandt

Mireille Hildebrandt

Research Professor of Interfacing Law and Technology at the Vrije Universiteit Brussel

Paul Maltby

Paul Maltby

Chief Digital Officer, Department of Communities & Local Government UK

Professor Jeanette Hoffman

Jeanette Hoffman

Professor and Head of The Internet Policy Field project group at the Social Science Research Centre Berlin (WZB)

Bill Thompson

Bill Thompson

Principal Research Engineer, Research & Development, BBC

Professor Chris Lintott

Chris Lintott

Professor of Astrophysics at the University of Oxford

Professor Evelyn Ruppert

Evelyn Ruppert

Professor of Sociology at Goldsmiths, University of London


Past lectures

Our past Distinguished Lectures are available to watch on YouTube

Watch the full playlist
Privacy Settings