

# **Terms of Reference**

Title:	Education Committee AY21/22	Date: September 2021
Title:	Education Committee AY21/22	Date: September 2021

- 1. To oversee the development and delivery of the University's Education Strategy.
- 2. To propose elements of the University's Education Strategy to be delivered through, and governed by, the mechanism of the University's 10 Year Plan Portfolio, via the Education Programme. The Programme Sponsor is accountable for the successful delivery of the Education Programme.
- 3. To evaluate the impact and effectiveness of the University's Education Strategy.
- 4. To report to Senate and University Executive Board on matters concerning Education and the Student Experience at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels.
- 5. To work with the Doctoral College Board on issues affecting the research student experience.
- 6. To reflect on, and where necessary respond to, external bodies concerned with the delivery of education, including the Office for Students and its Teaching Excellence Framework.
- 7. To develop policy and guidelines, subject to the approval of Senate where applicable, relevant to the delivery of the University Education Strategy.
- 8. To consider data relevant to all aspects of the student experience, including (but not limited to) the National Student Survey, other experience surveys, and the Graduate Outcomes survey.
- 9. To ensure the University's compliance with Consumer Protection law, in accordance with the Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) guidance and as part of the University's ongoing conditions of registration with the Office for Students, receiving from time to time reports from the Consumer Protection Subcommittee.
- 10. To inform the University's building, maintenance and refurbishment projects on learning spaces and independent study space, receiving reports from the Learning Spaces Subcommittee as appropriate.
- 11. To develop, implement and review the University's strategy, policies and procedures to support the access, success and progression of students from groups under-represented in higher education, receiving reports from the Widening Participation Subcommittee as appropriate.
- 12. The Committee may set up and disband from time to time such working groups and subcommittees as it decides are required to execute its business.

## University of Southampton

Between ordinary meetings of the committee, the Committee Chair shall have power to act on behalf of the committee on any matter requiring an immediate or early decision. Any decisions taken by the Chair under these delegated powers shall be reported to the next meeting of the committee. Matters requiring an immediate or early decision include such items as:

- 1. routine business that would not normally merit discussion at a meeting of the Committee;
- 2. matters relating to the implementation of policies that have already been approved by the Committee;
- 3. where permission is given by the Committee to finalise approval on completion of specified actions related to an item previously scrutinised at a meeting;
- 4. matters where delaying a decision would disadvantage the University or put it at risk;
- 5. in an emergency, or unforeseen circumstances, provided that such action is taken only in exceptional circumstances and, where practicable, in consultation with selected Committee members with expertise relevant to the issue.

#### Membership

Chair: Vice-President (Education)	Professor Alex Neill
President and Vice-Chancellor (or delegate)	Professor Alex Neill (delegate)
Pro Vice-Chancellor (Education)	Professor Anna Barney
Associate Deans (Education):	
Faculty of Arts and Humanities	Professor David Wheatley
Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences	Professor Sarah Stevenage
Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences	Professor Andrew Hector
Faculty of Medicine	Professor Jane Wilkinson
Faculty of Social Sciences	Professor Jim Anderson
Executive Director of Student Experience	Kieron Broadhead
Director of the University Doctoral College	Professor Christopher Howls
Director of the CHEP	Professor Shelley Parr
Deputy Director of the CHEP	Professor Helen Carmichael
Academic Registrar	Claire Atkins
Head of Quality, Standards and Accreditation (QSAT)	ТВС
Associate Director of Student and Academic Administration	Roz Stanton
Head of Student and Market Insight	Needee Myers

## University of Southampton

Director of Student Services	Kerry Matthews
Director of Library Services & Arts Strategy	Anna O'Neill
Head of Education Services, iSolutions	Dave Key
Two representatives from the Deputy Heads of	Dr Veronica Spencer
Schools (Education) Network	Professor Simon Kemp
Students' Union:	
Vice-President Education & Democracy	Ms Lottie James
Postgraduate Taught Officer	ТВС
Postgraduate Research Officer	ТВС
Secretary	Lucy Holder

The Chair may co-opt additional members as necessary (including to act as chairs of subcommittees) Members who are unable to attend may send a substitute with permission of the Chair.

## **Frequency and Timing**

At least three times per year.

## Quorum

The Education Committee will be quorate with one third of the membership plus one in attendance.

## **Reporting Requirements**

The Education Committee reports to Senate and University Executive Board (UEB).