The University of Southampton
Biological Sciences

Our staff

Keith T JonesHead of Biological Sciences
John ChadProfessor of Neuroscience
C. Patrick DoncasterProfessor of Ecology
Malcolm EastProfessor of Biochemistry
Tom P. FlemingProfessor of Developmental Biology
Keith R FoxProfessor of Biochemistry
Lindy Holden-DyeChair in Neuroscience
Bill KeevilChair in Environmental Healthcare
Karen A LillycropProfessor of Epigenetics
Philip NewlandProfessor of Neuroscience
Vincent O'ConnorProfessor of Neurochemistry
V Hugh PerryProfessor of Experimental Neuropathology
Guy M PoppyChief Scientific Adviser to the Food Standards Agency (UK Govt)
Peter J S SmithDirector, Institute for Life Sciences (IfLS)
Gail TaylorProfessor of Plant and Environmental Biology
Jessica L. TeelingProfessor of Experimental Neuroimmunology
Matthew J TerryProfessor of Molecular Plant Biology
Jeremy S WebbProfessor of Microbiology
Mark J ColdwellAssociate Professor
Nullin DivechaAssociate Professor in Biomedical Sciences
Felix EigenbrodAssociate Professor Ecology
Rob M EwingAssociate Professor in Proteomics and Systems Biology
Chris JacksonAssociate Dean (Education). Faculty of Natural and Environmental Sciences
Amritpal MudherAssociate Professor in Neurosciences
Paul SkippAssociate Professor in Proteomics
Herman WijnenAssociate Professor in Biological Sciences
Lorraine E WilliamsAssociate Professor in Plant Biology
C Howard BartonReader in Biomedical Sciences
Neil SmythReader in Development and Cell Biology
Joern WernerReader in Structural Biology
Melissa R AndrewsLecturer in Systems Physiology
Christopher BellLecturer in Epigenomics
Jane CatfordLecturer in Ecology
Mark A ChapmanLecturer in Ecology and Evolution
Claire E ClarkinAssociate Professor in Developmental Biology
Katrin DeinhardtLecturer in Neuroscience
Declan A DoyleLecturer in Molecular mechanisms and molecular medicine
Marc G DumontLecturer in Environmental Microbiology
Jane GibsonLecturer in Bioinformatics
Jasmin A GodboldLecturer
Diego Gomez-NicolaPrincipal Research Fellow in Neuroscience
Alan MarchantLecturer in Molecular Plant Sciences
Rebecca J MorrisRoyal Society University Research Fellow
Haruko OkamotoLecturer
Marcin R PrzewlokaLecturer in Systems Biology
Orly RazgourLecturer in Ecology
Bjorn RobroekLecturer in Ecology
David A RuslingLecturer in Pharmacology
Hannah V SiddleLecturer in Molecular Immunology
Jake L SnaddonLecturer in Ecology
Ivo TewsLecturer in Structural Biology
David TumbarelloLecturer in Biomedical Sciences
Yihua WangLecturer in Biomedical Sciences
Philip WilliamsonLecturer
Kelvin PehResearch Career Track Lecturer
Mariana Vargas-CaballeroResearch Career Track Lecturer, Institute for Life Sciences
Rodolphe Hervé Senior Research Fellow
Athanasios PapakyriakouMarie Curie Research Fellow in Structural Biology
Sandra A WilksSenior Research Fellow (Microbiology)
Ilectra AdamResearch Fellow (post-doctoral research associate) in Cell Biology
Akanksha BafnaResearch Fellow in Biological Timing
Fernando CalahorroResearch Fellow in C. elegans genetics and chemical biology
John FindlayResearch Fellow: Cellular Physiology
Annalisa GastaldelloResearch Fellow in Immunoproteomics
Marcela Teresa Hernandez GarciaResearch Fellow in Environmental Microbiology
Robert HollandResearch Fellow: Mapping Ecosystem Services
Robert P. HowlinResearch Fellow in Microbiology
Negusse Tadesse KitabaResearch Fellow in Bioinformatics
Ksenia KurbatskayaResearch Fellow in Neurodegeneration
Simon I.R. LaneResearch Fellow
Renzo MancusoResearch Fellow in Neuroimmunology
Halina MikolajekResearch Fellow in X-ray Crystallography and NMR
Juliane ObstSenior Research Assistant in Neuroimmunology
Erika ParkinsonResearch Fellow in Proteomics
Elena PipiResearch Fellow in Neuroimmunology
Shmma QuraisheResearch Fellow in Neuroregeneration
James P R SchofieldResearch Fellow in Proteomics
Thomas J SeckerResearch Fellow in infection prevention
Zahid ShahResearch Fellow
Emilie SimonResearch Fellow in Neuroinflammation
Hazel Katherine SmithResearch Fellow in plant genomics and genetics
Sarmi SriResearch Fellow in Neurodegeneration
Muhammad AkhtarEmeritus Professor
John A AllenEmeritus Professor
Chris AnthonyEmeritus Professor
Anthony LeeEmeritus Professor of Biochemistry
Norman MacleanEmeritus Professor of Genetics
Peter Shoolingin-Jordan Emeritus Professor
Robert WalkerEmeritus Professor of Neurophysiology
David C WiltonEmeritus Professor
Neil J. GostlingSenior Teaching Fellow
Matthew BellamyTeaching Fellow
James DillonTeaching Fellow
Judith LockSenior Teaching Fellow
Mark WillettImaging Services Manager
Mike AllwrightProject Technician
Jennifer Marie DewingResearch Technician in Neuroscience
Caroline DuignanResearch Technician
Gemma FryattResearch Technician in Neuroscience
Alexia Maria GaliResearch Technician in signalling and epigenetic regulation
Christopher HolesTechnician (Macromolecular Crystallography)
Suzanne MilnerPlant Biology Project Technician
Stephanie MorganResearch Technician
Susanna SherwinProject Technician
Billy ValdesResearch Technician: Molecular basis of potato greening to reduce food waste
Lex KraaijeveldPrincipal Teaching Fellow in Ecology and Evolution
Michael A BrownLaboratory Technician supporting Education
Madeleine BrownLaboratory Technician supporting Invertebrates
Mark A BurtonResearch Technician
Ben ClarkLaboratory Technician supporting Education
Daniel Wagner CohnResearch Fellow in Neuroimmunology
David CookTechnical Team Leader (Research)
Michael CottonLaboratory Technician supporting Horticulture
Rachel FitzearleSenior Technical Manager
Elisa MatthewsLaboratory Technician supporting Education
Ethan NichollsLaboratory Technician supporting Research
David NorrisLaboratory Technician supporting Education
Karen PlattDeputy Senior Technical Manager (Research)
Jane Worner-GibbsDeputy Senior Technical Manager (Education)
Iytzia Griselli CastanedaLaboratory Technician supporting Research
Claire ColvinLaboratory Technician supporting Education
Georgina R DawesLaboratory Technician supporting Research
Marilyn JenkinsLaboratory Technician supporting Research
Chris MalcolmLaboratory Technician supporting Education
Mark DixonFacility Manager (Building 85)
Mark JonesBuilding 85 Health and Safety Manager

    We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.