Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Business

Research and business enquiries

Business enquiries 

We welcome enquires from organisations and individuals interested in collaborating on research, accessing our services, expertise, and specialist facilities.

Please contact business@soton.ac.uk to be directed to the right expert or intellectualproperty@soton.ac.uk if your enquiry is IP related. Please be assured all emails are assigned to a team member and you won’t receive an automated response.

To speak to us directly regarding a business collaboration please call us on +44 (0)23 8059 3095.

If you are interested in becoming a supplier to the University please contact procurement 

For all other enquiries please call the University's main switchboard on +44 (0)23 8059 5000.

University of Southampton staff members can use the internal SharePoint site for further contact information and support.

To contact our Research and Innovation team please select a contact below

RIS Directors

Department coordinators

Research funding development team

Industry Relations

Research Performance and REF

Research Contracts Team and Enterprise & IP Contracts Team

Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property

Impact Funding

Business acceleration

Public Engagement with Research unit

Public Policy Southampton

RIS Directors

NamePositionContact details
Lorna Colquhoun Director of Research & Innovation Services

+44 (0) 23 8059 8573

l.m.colquhoun@soton.ac.uk

Diana Galpin Director of Enterprise and Knowledge Exchange

+44 (0)23 8059 8673

d.galpin@soton.ac.uk

Department Coordinators

Provides administrative support for the RIS Directors and department.

NamePositionContact details
Victoria Lewin Department Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 4686

v.lewin@soton.ac.uk

depcoord@soton.ac.uk

Helen Ballem Department Administrator

+44 (0) 23 8059 3095

h.m.ballem@soton.ac.uk

Research Funding Development

Provides expert funding advice and bid management support for large-scale research initiatives, fellowships and first grants.

For general enquiries please contact funding@soton.ac.uk

NamePositionContact details
Mylene Ployaert

Head of Research Funding Development

Key contact for: UKRI, Global Challenges Research Fund

+44 (0)23 8059 4680

mgsp@soton.ac.uk

Linda Hammond

Research Funding Manager

Key contact for: MRC, NIHR, Wellcome Trust

+44 (0)23 8059 8677

l.hammond@soton.ac.uk 

Emma Winnell

Research Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8342

e.winnell@soton.ac.uk

Jaydene Witchell Research Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8561

j.witchell@soton.ac.uk

Hannah Perkins Research Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 4695

h.perkins@soton.ac.uk

Katie Stickland Research Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 4386 

k.stickland@soton.ac.uk

Maud Vandereyken Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 5338

m.m.g.vandereyken@soton.ac.uk

Ruth Churchill Research Funding Officer

r.churchill@soton.ac.uk

+44 (0)23 8059 4663

Julia Newman Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8574

j.c.newman@soton.ac.uk

Stephen Abolins Research Funding Officer

+44(0)23 8059 5686

s.r.abolins@soton.ac.uk

Raquel Meco-Melguizo Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 3752

r.meco-melguizo@soton.ac.uk

Becky Moss Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 2819

r.j.moss@soton.ac.uk

Emily Nisbet Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 2971

e.d.nisbet@soton.ac.uk

Frances Demuth Research Funding Coordinator f.c.demuth@soton.ac.uk
Morgan Mason Research Funding Officer (IDR)

+44 (0)2380 598505

m.mason@soton.ac.uk

Austin Glatthorn Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)2380 593895

a.j.glatthorn@soton.ac.uk

 

Industry Relations 

Supports and advises on external engagement and corporate collaborations, prioritising a portfolio of strategic corporate partners to deliver large scale, complex and new opportunities, both directly funded and involving third parties.

For general enquiries please contact business@soton.ac.uk

NamePositionContact details
Chris Lord

Head of Corporate Partnerships

+44 (0)23 8059 4136

c.d.lord@soton.ac.uk

Jackie Milne

Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8560

j.milne@soton.ac.uk

Charlotte Shearing

Corporate Partnerships Manager

 +44 (0)23 8059 3894

C.R.Shearing@soton.ac.uk

Andrew Burton

Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8340

A.Burton@soton.ac.uk

Erin Downey

Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 5377

e.downey@soton.ac.uk

Hannah Styles Corporate Partnerships Officer

 +44 (0)23 8059 7582

h.c.styles@soton.ac.uk

Kerrie Graham Business Engagement Manager (SETsquared Scale-Up)

+44 (0)23 8059 1115

k.j.b.graham@soton.ac.uk

Frances Clarke Business Engagement Manager (SPRINT)

+44 (0)23 805 28975

f.m.clarke@soton.ac.uk

Jane Kavanagh-Lauridsen Business Engagement Manager (ESRC)

+44 (0)2380 591781

07825 761652

j.kavanagh-lauridsen@soton.ac.uk

Justin Lewis Business Engagement Officer (KTP)

02380 598568

justin.lewis@soton.ac.uk

Research Performance and REF

Manages the University’s REF submission, leads the development of the Pure information system, provides research analyses to support decision-making, and delivers internal communications celebrating the University’s research and enterprise activities.

NamePositionContact details
Peter Staniczenko Head of Research Performance

+44 (0)23 8059 7600

p.staniczenko@soton.ac.uk

Omar Salim Interim Head of Research Performance

+44 (0)23 8059 8565

o.salim@soton.ac.uk

Gemma Fitzsimmons Research Information Analyst

+44 (0)23 8059 8849

gemma.fitzsimmons@soton.ac.uk

Jason Milburn Research Information Systems Specialist

+(0)2380 595547

j.milburn@soton.ac.uk

Ben Willmott Management Information Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8672

b.willmott@soton.ac.uk

Tom Corp Management Information Officer

t.j.corp@soton.ac.uk

David Steynor Impact Framework Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 3244

d.p.steynor@soton.ac.uk

Sarah Hartley Impact Framework Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 5208

s.c.hartley@soton.ac.uk

Louise Payne Communications Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 4694

l.s.payne@soton.ac.uk

Lucy Collie Communications Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8675

l.j.collie@soton.ac.uk

Research Integrity and Governance

The primary function of the Research Integrity and Governance team is to review all the applicable elements of good research governance for higher risk studies involving human participants; and to arrange University sponsorship and insurance for eligible research studies.

The team is also responsible for monitoring the University's ethical review system and ensuring high ethical standards are maintained.

NamePositionContact details
Alison Knight Head of Research Integrity and Governance

+44 (0)2380 598580

a.knight@soton.ac.uk

David Steynor Interim Head of Research Integrity and Governance (Non-clinical)

+44 (0)23 8059 3244

d.p.steynor@soton.ac.uk

Linda Hammond Interim Head of Research Integrity and Governance (Clinical)

+44 (0)23 8059 8677

l.hammond@soton.ac.uk

Kate Rolfvondenbaumen Clinical Research Governance Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 5641

k.e.rolfvondenbaumen@soton.ac.uk

Anna Lewkowicz Research Compliance Manager

+44 (0)2380 596846

researchintegrity@soton.ac.uk

Lindy Dalen Research Integrity Officer (Research Governance, Clinical Studies and Ethics)

+44 (0)2380 598848

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Julia Hill Research Integrity Officer (Research Governance, Clinical Studies and Ethics)

+44 (0)23 8059 8566

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Eleanor Adams Research Integrity Officer (Research Governance, Policy and Ethics)

+44 (0)23 8059 5331

e.adams@soton.ac.uk

Trudi Bartlett Research Governance Coordinator (Research Governance Support)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Ellen Gallacher Ethics Coordinator (ERGO support)

+44 (0)23 8059 2984

risethic@soton.ac.uk

Hayley Davis Research Ethics and Clinical Monitoring Support Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 1113

risethic@soton.ac.uk 

Research Contracts Team and Enterprise & IP Contracts Team

Professional advice and support for the drafting, review and negotiation of research contracts with collaborators, funders and industry.

- If you are enquiring about putting a new research contract in place or about an existing contract negotiation please contact riscontracts@soton.ac.uk in the first instance.

NamePositionContact Details
Doug Akins Head of Research Contracts

+44 (0)23 8059 8567

doug.akins@soton.ac.uk

Kieron Dolphin Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8564

k.dolphin@soton.ac.uk

Jonathan Trapp Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 7700

j.trapp@soton.ac.uk

Mark Bull Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8560

m.a.bull@soton.ac.uk

Vin Kaluza Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 9664

v.r.kaluza@soton.ac.uk

Bee Brown Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 9663

bee.brown@soton.ac.uk

Sultan Aldubayan Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 5678

s.s.y.aldubayan@soton.ac.uk

Alex Wilkinson Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8676

a.r.wilkinson@soton.ac.uk

Harj Mandair Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8409

H.Mandair@soton.ac.uk

Charlotte Stringer Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8578

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Victoria Dew Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8598

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Louise Stretton Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 7380

l.k.stretton@soton.ac.uk

Rachel Owen Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 5427

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

 

Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property 

Provides expert advice on the commercialisation of research outputs through patenting, licensing and company formation

+44 (0)23 8059 8341

NamePositionContact details

If you have a new technology transfer or IP enquiry please contact

intellectualproperty@soton.ac.uk

David Woolley Head of Technology Transfer and Impact Programmes

+44 (0)23 8059 8341

+44 (0)77 2392 4922

d.woolley@soton.ac.uk

Charles Opoku Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 5330

c.opoku@soton.ac.uk

Kambiz Kalantari Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 1736

k.kalantari@soton.ac.uk

Reda Zemaityte Commercialisation Manager (Social Sciences)

 +44 (0)2380 595115

r.zemaityte@soton.ac.uk

Tom Carnay Strategic Innovation Programme Lead,

+44 (0)2380 595257

t.j.c.carnay@soton.ac.uk

Laura Keene Intellectual Property Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 2035

l.h.keene@soton.ac.uk

Lorraine Shepperd Administrator (IP&TT)

+44 (0)23 8059 8581

l.h.shepperd@soton.ac.uk

Tony Hill Enterprise Contracts Lead

+44 (0)23 8059 8795

+44 (0)23 8059 9473

a.a.hill@soton.ac.uk

Laura Karydis Enterprise Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 805 28975

l.i.karydis@soton.ac.uk

Victoria Blakesley Enterprise Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 9481

v.blakesley@soton.ac.uk

Impact Funding

If you have a new enquiry please contact impact@soton.ac.uk

 

 

Ruth Saw Impact Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8707

ruth.saw@soton.ac.uk

Leigh Purdie Impact Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 5724

l.purdie@soton.ac.uk

Alex Barras Impact Funding Coordinator

+44 (0)2380 595548

a.barras@soton.ac.uk

 

Business Acceleration

Develops practical programmes to support knowledge transfer, incubate start-up companies, deliver scale-up services and drive economic development.

 

NamePositionContact details
David Bream Head of Business Acceleration

+44 075 4542 3694

drbream@soton.ac.uk

Karen Brooks SETSquared Programmes Director

+44 078 1080 5406

Karen.brooks@setsquared.co.uk

Thea Glasspool ICURe Programme Officer

+44 075 5717 9144

t.glasspool@soton.ac.uk

Public Engagement with Research unit

NamePositionContact details
   Director - Public Engagement

+44 (0)23 8059 4937

 Jo James   Interim Head of Public Engagement

+44 (0)23 8059 4189

j.m.james@soton.ac.uk

 Lou Pirie  PERu Senior Administrator

+44 (0)23 8059 7009

l.j.pirie@soton.ac.uk

 Lucy Graves Administrator - Festivals Support

+44 (0)23 8059 5119

l.graves@soton.ac.uk

Tony Curran Senior Public Engagement Fellow

+44 (0)23 8059 9279

tcu@soton.ac.uk

Silvia Lanati Public Engagement Operations Lead

+44 (0)23 8059 3858

s.lanati@soton.ac.uk

Ronda Gowland-Pryde Senior Public Engagement Fellow/Civic University Lead

+44 (0)23 8059 9348

r.j.gowland-pryde@soton.ac.uk

Wendy-Anne Appleby Civic University Administrator

+44 (0)23 8059 6876

wa.appleby@soton.ac.uk

Jess Spurrell Schools University Partnership Officer (40/60 PERu/Student Recruitment and Outreach

+44 (0)23 8059 7521

j.c.spurrell@soton.ac.uk

Public Policy Southampton

NamePositionContact details
 Giles Giles  Head of Public Policy 

+44 (0)23 8059 8981

g.giles@soton.ac.uk

 Yaryna Basystyuk  Public Policy Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 5466

y.basystyuk@soton.ac.uk

Aiysha Qureshi Senior Policy Officer and Communications Lead

+44 (0)23 8059 4311

a.qureshi@soton.ac.uk

 Wassim Dbouk  Marine and Maritime Policy Officer (SMMI/PPS)

+44 (0)23 8059 5836

w.dbouk@soton.ac.uk

Why work with us?

Why work with us?

Explore information about our business partnerships and how we could help your business

How we operate

How we operate

We ensure that all our work meets strict policies and guidelines, whilst tackling some of society's biggest challenges

Information for suppliers

Suppliers

Find information if you are a current supplier or discover how you could become an approved supplier

Privacy Settings