Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Business

Research and business enquiries

Contact Research and Innovation Services to discuss how we can help you enhance your business through our bespoke service.

You can speak to our experts directly or talk to us on +44 (0)23 8059 3095.

For all other non-business related enquiries please call the University's main switchboard on +44 (0)23 8059 5000.

Speak to our sector experts

RIS Directors

Department coordinators

Research funding development team

Corporate partnerships

Research Performance and REF

Contracts, policy and governance

Technology transfer and impact programmes

Business acceleration

Public Engagement with Research unit

Public Policy Southampton

RIS Directors

NamePositionContact details
Peter Staniczenko Interim Director of RIS Operations and Planning

+44 (0) 23 8059 7600

p.staniczenko@soton.ac.uk

Lorna Colquhoun Director

+44 (0) 23 8059 8573

l.m.colquhoun@soton.ac.uk

Diana Galpin Director of Enterprise and Knowledge Exchange

+44 (0)23 8059 8673

d.galpin@soton.ac.uk

Department coordinators

Provides administrative support for the RIS Director and department.

NamePositionContact details
Victoria Lewin Department Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 4686

v.lewin@Soton.ac.uk

depcoord@soton.ac.uk

Helen Ballem Department Administrator

+44 (0) 23 8059 3095

hmb@soton.ac.uk

Research funding development team

Provides expert funding advice and bid management support for large-scale research initiatives, fellowships and first grants.

For general enquiries please contact funding@soton.ac.uk.

NamePositionContact details
Mylene Ployaert

Head of Research Funding Development

Key contact for: UKRI, Global Challenges Research Fund

+44 (0)23 8059 4680

mgsp@soton.ac.uk

Linda Hammond

Research Funding Manager

Key contact for: MRC, NIHR, Wellcome Trust

+44 (0)23 8059 8677

l.hammond@soton.ac.uk 

Jon Williams

Research Funding Manager

Key contact for: EPSRC, STFC, RAENG

+44 (0)23 8059 8569

j.p.williams@soton.ac.uk

Emma Winnell

Research Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8342

e.winnell@soton.ac.uk

Jaydene Witchell Research Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8561

j.witchell@soton.ac.uk

Hannah Perkins Research Funding Manager (Maternity Leave)

+44 (0)23 8059 4695

h.perkins@soton.ac.uk

Jo Lancaster Research Funding Officer (EU)

+44 (0)23 8059 8671

j.m.Lancaster@soton.ac.uk

Becs Moran Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 4663

R.C.Moran@soton.ac.uk

Julia Newman Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8574

j.c.newman@soton.ac.uk

Stephen Abolins Research Funding Officer

+44(0)23 8059 5686

s.r.abolins@soton.ac.uk

Raquel Meco-Melguizo Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 3752

r.meco-melguizo@soton.ac.uk

Becky Moss Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 2819

r.j.moss@soton.ac.uk

Emily Nisbet Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 2971

e.d.nisbet@soton.ac.uk

Frances Demuth Research Funding Coordinator f.c.demuth@soton.ac.uk

Corporate partnerships

Supports and advises on external engagement and corporate collaborations, prioritising a portfolio of strategic corporate partners to deliver large scale, complex and new opportunities, both directly funded and involving third parties.

For general enquiries please contact business@soton.ac.uk

NamePositionContact details
Chris Lord

Head of Corporate Partnerships

+44 (0)23 8059 4136

c.d.lord@soton.ac.uk

Jackie Milne

Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8560

j.milne@soton.ac.uk

Charlotte Shearing

Corporate Partnerships Manager

 +44 (0)23 8059 3894

C.R.Shearing@soton.ac.uk

Andrew Burton

Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8340

A.Burton@soton.ac.uk

Vacancy

Corporate Partnerships Officer

 
Erin Downey

Strategic Innovation Projects Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 5377

e.downey@soton.ac.uk

Vacancy Corporate Partnerships Officer  
Kerrie Graham Business Engagement Manager (SETsquared Scale-Up)

+44 (0)23 8059 1115

k.j.b.graham@soton.ac.uk

Frances Clarke Business Engagement Manager (SPRINT)

+44 02380 598975

f.m.clarke@soton.ac.uk

Jane Kavanagh-Lauridsen Business Engagement Manager (ESRC)

07825 761652

j.kavanagh-lauridsen@soton.ac.uk

Justin Lewis Business Engagement Officer (KTP)

02380 598568

justin.lewis@soton.ac.uk

Research Performance and REF

Manages the University’s REF submission, leads the development of the Pure information system, provides research analyses to support decision-making, and delivers internal communications celebrating the University’s research and enterprise activities.

NamePositionContact details
Peter Staniczenko Head of Research Performance

+44 (0)23 8059 7600

p.staniczenko@soton.ac.uk

Omar Salim Interim Head of Research Performance

+44 (0)23 8059 8565

o.salim@soton.ac.uk

Gemma Fitzsimmons Research Information Analyst

+44 (0)23 8059 8849

gemma.fitzsimmons@soton.ac.uk

Ben Willmott Management Information Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8672

b.willmott@soton.ac.uk

Tom Corp Management Information Officer

t.j.corp@soton.ac.uk

David Steynor Impact Framework Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 3244

d.p.steynor@soton.ac.uk

Louise Payne Communications and Training Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 4694

l.s.payne@soton.ac.uk

Lucy Collie Communications Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8675

l.j.collie@soton.ac.uk

Research integrity and governance

The primary function of the Research Integrity and Governance team is to review all the applicable elements of good research governance for higher risk studies involving human participants; and to arrange University sponsorship and insurance for eligible research studies.

The team is also responsible for monitoring the University's ethical review system and ensuring high ethical standards are maintained.

NamePositionContact details
Alison Knight Head of Research Integrity & Governance

+44 (0)2380 598580

a.knight@soton.ac.uk

David Steynor Interim Head of Research Integrity and Governance (Non-clinical)

+44 (0)23 8059 3244

d.p.steynor@soton.ac.uk

Linda Hammond Interim Head of Research Integrity and Governance (Clinical)

+44 (0)23 8059 8677

l.hammond@soton.ac.uk

Vacancy Clinical Research Governance Manager  
Anna Lewkowicz Research Compliance Manager

+44 (0)2380 596846

researchintegrity@soton.ac.uk

Lindy Dalen Research Integrity Officer (Research Governance, Clinical Studies and Ethics)

+44 (0)2380 598848

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Julia Hill Research Integrity Officer (Research Governance, Clinical Studies and Ethics)

+44 (0)23 8059 8566

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Vacancy Research Integrity Officer (Research Governance, Policy and Ethics)  
Trudi Bartlett Research Governance Coordinator (Research Governance Support)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Ellen Gallacher Ethics Coordinator (ERGO support)

+44 (0)2380 592984

risethic@soton.ac.uk

Hayley Davis Research Ethics and Clinical Monitoring Support Coordinator

risethic@soton.ac.uk 

Research Contracts

Professional advice and support for the drafting, review and negotiation of research contracts with collaborators, funders and industry.

- If you are enquiring about putting a new research contract in place or about an existing contract negotiation please contact riscontracts@soton.ac.uk in the first instance.

NamePositionContact Details
Doug Akins Head of Research Contracts

+44 (0)23 8059 8567

doug.akins@soton.ac.uk

Kieron Dolphin Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8564

k.dolphin@soton.ac.uk

Jonathan Trapp Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 7700

j.trapp@soton.ac.uk

Mark Bull Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8560

m.a.bull@soton.ac.uk

Vin Kaluza Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 9664

v.r.kaluza@soton.ac.uk

Bee Brown Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 9663

bee.brown@soton.ac.uk

Sultan Aldubayan Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 5678

s.s.y.aldubayan@soton.ac.uk

Ilectra Adam Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 3895

i.s.adam@soton.ac.uk

Alex Wilkinson Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8676

a.r.wilkinson@soton.ac.uk

Charlotte Stringer Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8578

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Harj Mandair Contracts Coordinator

 +44 (0)23 8059 8409

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Victoria Dew Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8598

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Vacancy Contracts Coordinator  

Technology transfer and impact programmes

Provides expert advice on the commercialisation of research outputs through patenting, licensing and company formation.

+44 (0)23 8059

NamePositionContact details

Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property

If you have a new technology transfer or IP enquiry please contact

intellectualproperty@soton.ac.uk

David Woolley Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8341

077 2392 4922

d.woolley@soton.ac.uk

Lindsay Smith Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 1735

l.d.smith@soton.ac.uk

Kambiz Kalantari Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 1736

K.Kalantari@soton.ac.uk

Laura Keene Intellectual Property Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 2035

l.h.keene@soton.ac.uk

Lorraine Shepperd Administrator (IP&TT)

+44 (0)23 8059 8581

l.h.shepperd@soton.ac.uk

Tony Hill Enterprise Contracts Lead

+44 (0)23 8059 8795

a.a.hill@soton.ac.uk

Laura Karydis Enterprise Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8975

l.i.karydis@soton.ac.uk

Victoria Blakesley Enterprise Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 9481

v.blakesley@soton.ac.uk

Impact Funding and Knowledge Transfer

If you have a new enquiry please contact impact@soton.ac.uk

 

 

Ruth Saw Impact Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8707

ruth.saw@soton.ac.uk

Leigh Purdie Impact Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 5724

l.purdie@soton.ac.uk

Taym Saleh Impact Funding Officer

t.saleh@soton.ac.uk

Heidi Benge Impact Funding Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8382

h.benge@soton.ac.uk

Hannah Styles Impact Funding Coordinator

 +44 (0)23 8059 7582

h.c.styles@soton.ac.uk

Business acceleration

Develops practical programmes to support knowledge transfer, incubate start-up companies, deliver scale-up services and drive economic development.

 

NamePositionContact details
David Bream Head of Business Acceleration

+44 075 4542 3694

drbream@soton.ac.uk

Karen Brooks SETSquared Programmes Director

+44 078 1080 5406

Karen.brooks@setsquared.co.uk

Thea Glasspool ICURe Programme Officer

+44 075 5717 9144

t.glasspool@soton.ac.uk

Public Engagement with Research unit

NamePositionContact details
 Steve Dorney  Director - Public Engagement

+44 (0)23 8059 4937

s.dorney@soton.ac.uk

 Jo James   Public Enagement Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 4189

j.m.james@soton.ac.uk

 Lou Pirie  PERu Administrator

+44 (0)23 8059 7009

l.j.pirie@soton.ac.uk

Tony Curran Senior Public Engagement Fellow

+44 (0)23 8059 4937

tcu@soton.ac.uk

Silvia Lanati Public Engagement Operations Lead

+44 (0)23 8059 3858

s.lanati@soton.ac.uk

Ronda Gowland-Pryde Senior Public Engagement Fellow/Civic University Lead

+44 (0)23 8059 4937

r.j.gowland-pryde@soton.ac.uk

Wendy-Anne Appleby Civic University Administrator

+44 (0)23 8059 6876

wa.appleby@soton.ac.uk

Jess Spurrell Schools University Partnership Officer (40/60 PERu/Student Recruitment and Outreach

+44 (0)23 8059 7521

j.c.spurrell@soton.ac.uk

 

Public Policy Southampton

NamePositionContact details
 Giles Giles  Head of Public Policy 

+44 (0)23 8059 8981

g.giles@soton.ac.uk

 Yaryna Basystyuk  Public Engagement Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 5466

y.basystyuk@soton.ac.uk

 Thea Kouraki  Policy Officer and Communications Lead

+44 (0)23 8059 4311

t.m.kouraki@soton.ac.uk

 Wassim Dbouk  Marine and Maritime Policy Officer (SMMI/PPS) w.dbouk@soton.ac.uk
Why work with us?

Why work with us?

Explore information about our business partnerships and how we could help your business

How we operate

How we operate

We ensure that all our work meets strict policies and guidelines, whilst tackling some of society's biggest challenges

Information for suppliers

Suppliers

Find information if you are a current supplier or discover how you could become an approved supplier

Privacy Settings