Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Business

Research and business enquiries

Contact Research and Innovation Services to discuss how we can help you enhance your business through our bespoke service.

You can speak to our experts directly or talk to us on +44 (0)23 8059 3095.

For all other non-business related enquiries please call the University's main switchboard on +44 (0)23 8059 5000.

Speak to our sector experts

RIS Director

Department coordinators

Research funding development team

Corporate partnerships

Research performance

Contracts, policy and governance

Technology transfer and impact programmes

Business acceleration

RIS Director

NamePositionContact details
Lorna Colquhoun Director

+44 (0) 23 8059 8573

l.m.colquhoun@soton.ac.uk

Department coordinators

Provides administrative support for the RIS Director and department.

NamePositionContact details
Rachel Tucker Department Coordinator

+44 (0) 23 8059 4686

depcoord@soton.ac.uk

Helen Ballem Department Administrator

+44 (0) 23 8059 3095

hmb@soton.ac.uk

Research funding development team

Provides expert funding advice and bid management support for large-scale research initiatives, fellowships and first grants.

For general enquiries please contact funding@soton.ac.uk.

NamePositionContact details
Mylene Ployaert

Head of Research Funding Development

Key contact for: UKRI, Global Challenges Research Fund

+44 (0)23 8059 4680

mgsp@soton.ac.uk

Linda Hammond

Research Funding Manager

Key contact for: BBSRC, MRC, NIHR, Wellcome Trust

+44 (0)23 8059 8677

l.hammond@soton.ac.uk 

Denise Martin

Research Funding Manager (EU)

Key contact for: Horizon 2020

+44 (0)23 8059 8561

denise.martin@soton.ac.uk

Niki Price

Research Funding Manager

Key contact for: AHRC, ESRC, NERC, Leverhulme Trust

+44 (0)23 8059 8574

n.price@soton.ac.uk

Jon Williams

Research Funding Manager

Key contact for: EPSRC, STFC, RAENG

+44 (0)23 8059 8569

j.p.williams@soton.ac.uk

Cecillia Di Chio Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 5686

c.di-chio@soton.ac.uk

Joanna Stewart Research Funding Officer (EU)

+44 (0)23 8059 9279

j.d.stewart@soton.ac.uk

Emma Winnell Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8342

e.winnell@soton.ac.uk

Jo Lancaster Research Funding Officer (EU)

+44 (0)23 8059 8671

j.m.Lancaster@soton.ac.uk

Hannah Perkins Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 4695

h.perkins@soton.ac.uk

Becs Moran (maternity leave) Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 4663

R.C.Moran@soton.ac.uk

Raquel Meco-Melquizo Research Funding Officer (EU)

+44 (0)23 8059 9279

r.meco-melguizo@soton.ac.uk

Dominic Mikulski Research Funding Officer (GCRF)

+44 (0)23 8059 2971

D.F.T.Mikulski@soton.ac.uk

Becky Moss Research Funding Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 2819

r.j.moss@soton.ac.uk

 

Corporate partnerships

Supports and advises on external engagement and corporate collaborations, prioritising a portfolio of strategic corporate partners to deliver large scale, complex and new opportunities, both directly funded and involving third parties.

For general enquiries please contact business@soton.ac.uk

NamePositionContact details
Chris Lord

Head of Corporate Partnerships

+44 (0)23 8059 4136

c.d.lord@soton.ac.uk

Nikki Matthews

Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8340

n.s.matthews@soton.ac.uk

Jackie Milne

Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8560

077 7634 6497

j.milne@soton.ac.uk

Amir Kayani

Corporate Partnerships Manager

 +44 (0)23 8059 5377

a.kayani@soton.ac.uk

Charlotte Shearing

Corporate Partnerships Manager

 +44 (0)23 8059 3894

C.R.Shearing@soton.ac.uk

Research performance

Manages the University’s REF2021 submission, leads the development of the Pure information system, provides research analyses to support decision-making, and delivers internal communications celebrating the University’s research and enterprise activities.

NamePositionContact details
Peter Staniczenko  Head of Research Performance

+44 (0)23 8059 7600

p.staniczenko@soton.ac.uk

Omar Salim  Research Information Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8565

o.salim@soton.ac.uk

Gemma Fitzsimmons  Research Information Analyst

+44 (0)23 8059 8849

gemma.fitzsimmons@soton.ac.uk

Anna Walker  Management Information Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8672

a.r.hills@soton.ac.uk

Ben Willmott  Management Information Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8672

b.willmott@soton.ac.uk

David Steynor  Impact Framework Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 3244

d.p.steynor@soton.ac.uk

Louise Payne  Communications and Training Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 4694

l.s.payne@soton.ac.uk

Lucy Collie Communications and Training Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8675
l.j.collie@soton.ac.uk

Research integrity and governance

The primary function of the Research Integrity and Governance team is to review all the applicable elements of good research governance for higher risk studies involving human participants; and to arrange University sponsorship and insurance for eligible research studies.

The team is also responsible for monitoring the University's ethical review system and ensuring high ethical standards are maintained.

NamePositionContact details
Dr Alison Knight Head of Research Integrity and Governance

 +44 (0)23 8059 8580

a.knight@soton.ac.uk

Lindy Dalen  Research Integrity Officer (Research governance, clinical studies and ethics)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Joanna Dixon  Research Integrity Officer (Research governance, clinical studies and ethics)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Anna Lewkowicz  Research Integrity Officer (Research policy and research integrity)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

researchintegrity@soton.ac.uk

Trudi Bartlett  Research Governance Coordinator (Research governance support)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Ellen Gallacher  Ethics Coordinator (ERGO support)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

risethic@soton.ac.uk

Research Contracts

Professional advice and support for the drafting, review and negotiation of research contracts with collaborators, funders and industry.

- If you are enquiring about putting a new research contract in place or about an existing contract negotiation please contact riscontracts@soton.ac.uk in the first instance.

NamePositionContact Details
Doug Akins Head of Research Contracts (Interim)

+44 (0)23 8059 8567

doug.akins@soton.ac.uk

Vacancy Major Contracts Manager NA
Vacancy Major Contracts Manager NA
Kieron Dolphin  Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8564

k.dolphin@soton.ac.uk

Anita Krainska Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 9118

a.krainska@soton.ac.uk

Peta Durrant Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8676

p-a.s.durrant@soton.ac.uk

Lizzie Richley Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 7380

e.c.richley@soton.ac.uk

Bee Brown Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 9663

b.trezise@soton.ac.uk

Vin Kaluza Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 9664

v.r.Kaluza@soton.ac.uk

Angela Faux Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8598

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Charlotte Stringer Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 3895

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Harj Mandair  Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8409

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Ilectra Adam Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 3895

i.s.adam@soton.ac.uk

Hayley Davis Contracts Administrator +44 (0)23 8059 1113

Technology transfer and impact programmes

Provides expert advice on the commercialisation of research outputs through patenting, licensing and company formation.

NamePositionContact details
Di Galpin Head of Technology Transfer
and Impact Programmes

+44 (0)23 8059 8673

d.galpin@soton.ac.uk

Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property

If you have a new technology transfer or IP enquiry please contact

intellectualproperty@soton.ac.uk

Lindsay Smith Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 1735

L.D.Smith@soton.ac.uk

David Woolley Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8341

077 2392 4922

d.woolley@soton.ac.uk

Paul Wilkinson Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 1736

p.wilkinson@soton.ac.uk

Laura Keene Intellectual Property Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 2035

l.k.keene@soton.ac.uk

Lorraine Shepperd Administrator (IP&TT)

+44 (0)23 8059 8581

l.h.shepperd@soton.ac.uk

Tony Hill IP Commercialisation Legal Manager  

+44 (0)23 8059 8795

a.a.hill@soton.ac.uk

Claire Armstrong IP Commercialisation Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 3635

c.d.armstrong@soton.ac.uk

Impact Funding and Knowledge Transfer

If you have a new enquiry please contact impact@soton.ac.uk

 

 

Ruth Saw Impact Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8707

ruth.saw@soton.ac.uk

Michelle Limbert Business Engagement Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 1734

m.limbert@soton.ac.uk

Kerrie Bayliss Business Engagement Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 1115

k.j.bayliss@soton.ac.uk

Jane Kavanagh-Lauridsen Business Engagement Manager

078 2576 1652

J.Kavanagh-Lauridsen@soton.ac.uk 

Frances Clarke Business Engagement Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8975

F.M.Clarke@soton.ac.uk

Leigh Purdie Impact Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 5724

l.purdie@soton.ac.uk

Heidi Benge Impact Funding Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8382

H.Benge@soton.ac.uk

Ann Robertson Impact Funding Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 7580

A.E.Robertson@soton.ac.uk

Phil Jewell Programme Officer (KTP & Impact funding)

+44 (0)23 8059 8568

p.e.jewell@soton.ac.uk

Business acceleration

Develops practical programmes to support knowledge transfer, incubate start-up companies, deliver scale-up services and drive economic development.

 

NamePositionContact details
David Bream Head of Business Acceleration

075 4542 3694

drbream@soton.ac.uk

Karen Brooks SETSquared Programmes Director

078 1080 5406

Karen.brooks@setsquared.co.uk

Thea Glasspool ICURe Programme Coordinator

075 5717 9144

Thea.Glasspool@soton.ac.uk

Gary Smith SETSquared Hub Manager TBC
Paula Richardson SETSquared Programme Manager

078 2352 1052

p.a.richardson@soton.ac.uk

Why work with us?

Why work with us?

Explore information about our business partnerships and how we could help your business

How we operate

How we operate

We ensure that all our work meets strict policies and guidelines, whilst tackling some of society's biggest challenges

Information for suppliers

Suppliers

Find information if you are a current supplier or discover how you could become an approved supplier

Privacy Settings