The University of Southampton
Business

Research and business enquiries

Contact Research and Innovation Services to discuss how we can help you enhance your business through our bespoke service.

You can speak to our experts directly or talk to us on +44 (0)23 8059 3095.

For all other non-business related enquiries please call the University's main switchboard on +44 (0)23 8059 5000.

Speak to our sector experts

RIS Director

Department coordinators

Research funding development team

Corporate partnerships

Research performance

Contracts, policy and governance

Technology transfer and impact programmes

Business acceleration

RIS Director

NamePositionContact details
Lorna Colquhoun Director

+44 (0) 23 8059 8573

l.m.colquhoun@soton.ac.uk

Department coordinators

Provides administrative support for the RIS Director and department.

NamePositionContact details
Rachel Tucker Department Coordinator

+44 (0) 23 8059 4686

depcoord@soton.ac.uk

Helen Ballem Department Administrator

+44 (0) 23 8059 3095

hmb@soton.ac.uk

Research funding development team

Provides expert funding advice and bid management support for large-scale research initiatives, fellowships and first grants.

For general enquiries please contact funding@soton.ac.uk.

NamePositionContact details
Mylene Ployaert Head of Research Funding Development

+44 (0)23 8059 4680

mgsp@soton.ac.uk

Linda Hammond Research Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8677

l.hammond@soton.ac.uk 

Denise Martin Research Funding Manager (EU)

+44 (0)23 8059 8561

denise.martin@soton.ac.uk

Niki Price Research Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8574

n.price@soton.ac.uk

Jon Williams Research Funding Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8569

j.p.williams@soton.ac.uk

Cecillia Di Chio Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 5686

c.di-chio@soton.ac.uk

Julia Newman Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 4695

j.c.newman@soton.ac.uk

Ruth Saw Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8707

ruth.saw@soton.ac.uk

Joanna Stewart Research Funding Officer (EU)

+44 (0)23 8059 9279

j.d.stewart@soton.ac.uk

Emma Winnell Research Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8342

e.winnell@soton.ac.uk

Jo Lancaster Research Funding Officer (EU)

 +44 (0)23 8059 8671

j.m.Lancaster@soton.ac.uk

Becky Aldus Research Funding Coordinator

 +44 (0)23 8059 2819

r.j.Aldus@soton.ac.uk

Corporate partnerships

Supports and advises on external engagement and corporate collaborations, prioritising a portfolio of strategic corporate partners to deliver large scale, complex and new opportunities, both directly funded and involving third parties.

NamePositionContact details
Chris Lord Head of Corporate Partnerships

+44 (0)23 8059 4136

c.d.lord@soton.ac.uk

Brigitte Lavoie Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 3894

balavoie@soton.ac.uk

Nikki Matthews Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8340

n.s.matthews@soton.ac.uk

 Jackie Milne Corporate Partnerships Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8560

077 7634 6497

j.milne@soton.ac.uk

 Frances Clarke  Corporate Partnerships Officer

+44 (0)23 80598975

f.m.Clarke@soton.ac.uk

Research performance

Manages the University’s REF2021 submission, leads the development of the Pure information system, provides research analyses to support decision-making, and delivers internal communications celebrating the University’s research and enterprise activities.

NamePositionContact details
Peter Staniczenko  Head of Research Performance

+44 (0)23 8059 7600

p.staniczenko@soton.ac.uk

 Omar Salim  Research Information Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8565

o.salim@soton.ac.uk

 Gemma Fitzsimmons  Research Information Analyst

+44 (0)23 8059 8849

gemma.fitzsimmons@soton.ac.uk

 Anna Hills  Management Information Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8672

a.r.hills@soton.ac.uk

 Ben Willmott  Management Information Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 8672

b.willmott@soton.ac.uk

David Steynor  Impact Framework Manager

 +44 (0)23 8059 3244

d.p.steynor@soton.ac.uk

 Louise Payne  Communications and Training Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 4694

l.s.payne@soton.ac.uk

Contracts, policy and governance

Professional advice and support for the drafting, review and negotiation of research contracts with collaborators, funders and industry.

Ensures the Research & Enterprise Policy Framework is clear, proportionate, fair and well understood by staff and students undertaking research.

NamePositionContact details
Vacancy Head of contracts, policy and governance

 

Integrity and governance team 

Ferdousi Chowdhury  Research Integrity and Governance Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Lindy Dalen  Research Integrity Officer (Research governance, clinical studies and ethics)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Joanna Dixon  Research Integrity Officer (Research governance, clinical studies and ethics)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Anna Lewkowicz  Research Integrity Officer (Research policy and research integrity)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

researchintegrity@soton.ac.uk

Trudi Bartlett  Research Governance Coordinator (Research governance support)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

rgoinfo@soton.ac.uk

Ellen Gallacher  Ethics Coordinator (ERGO support)

+44 (0)23 8059 5058

risethic@soton.ac.uk

Contracts team 

If you are enquiring about putting a new research contract in place or about an existing contract / negotiation please contact riscontracts@soton.ac.uk in the first instance.

Doug Akins  Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8567

doug.akins@soton.ac.uk

Olivia Chalwin  Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8676

o.j.Chalwin@soton.ac.uk

Kieron Dolphin  Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8564

k.dolphin@soton.ac.uk

Anita Krainska  Major Contracts Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 9118

a.krainska@soton.ac.uk

McKenzie Rate  Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 1901

m.d.rate@soton.ac.uk

Lizzie Richley  Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 7380

e.c.richley@soton.ac.uk

Bee Trezise  Contracts Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 9663

b.trezise@soton.ac.uk

Anthony Stephenson-Hart Contracts Officer

 +44 (0)23 8059 4456

a.stephenson-hart@soton.ac.uk

Angela Faux  Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8598

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Charlotte Stringer  Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 3895

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Vin Kaluza Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 9664

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Harj Mandair Contracts Coordinator

+44 (0)23 8059 8409

riscontracts@soton.ac.uk

Vacancy Contracts Administrator

 

 

Technology transfer and impact programmes

Provides expert advice on the commercialisation of research outputs through patenting, licensing and company formation.

Administrator (IP&TT)

NamePositionContact details
Di Galpin Head of Technology Transfer
and Impact Programmes

+44 (0)23 8059 8673

d.galpin@soton.ac.uk

Technology Transfer and Intellectual Property

If you have a new technology transfer or IP enquiry please contact

intellectualproperty@soton.ac.uk

James Hamilton Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 9348

j.c.Hamilton@soton.ac.uk

David Woolley Technology Transfer Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 8341

077 2392 4922

d.woolley@soton.ac.uk

Laura Keene Intellectual Property Manager

+44 (0)23 8059 2035

l.k.keene@soton.ac.uk

Lorraine Shepperd Administrator (IP&TT)

+44 (0)23 8059 8581

l.h.shepperd@soton.ac.uk

Vacancy IP Commercialisation Legal Manager  

 

Claire Armstrong IP Commercialisation Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 3635

c.d.armstrong@soton.ac.uk

Impact Funding and Knowledge Transfer

If you have a new enquiry please contact impact@soton.ac.uk

 

 

Leigh Purdie Impact Funding Officer

+44 (0)23 8059 5724

l.purdie@soton.ac.uk

Phil Jewell Programme Officer (KTP & Impact funding)

+44 (0)23 8059 8568

p.e.jewell@soton.ac.uk

Business acceleration

Develops practical programmes to support knowledge transfer, incubate start-up companies, deliver scale-up services and drive economic development.

NamePositionContact details
David Bream Head of Business Acceleration

075 4542 3694

drbream@soton.ac.uk

Alan Scrase SET2 Business Acceleration Centre Manager

078 2576 1652

a.scrase@soton.ac.uk

Karen Brooks SET2 Programmes Director

078 1080 5406

Karen.brooks@setsquared.co.uk

Thea Glasspool ICURe Programme Coordinator

075 5717 9144

Thea.Glasspool@soton.ac.uk

Gary Smith SET2 Hub Manager TBC
Richard Hall ERDF Hub Manager

077 7060 5664

r.f.j.hall@soton.ac.uk

Paula Richardson ERDF Hub Manager

078 2352 1052

p.a.richardson@soton.ac.uk

Why work with us?

Why work with us?

Explore information about our business partnerships and how we could help your business

How we operate

How we operate

We ensure that all our work meets strict policies and guidelines, whilst tackling some of society's biggest challenges

Information for suppliers

Suppliers

Find information if you are a current supplier or discover how you could become an approved supplier

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you continue without changing your settings, we will assume that you are happy to receive cookies on the University of Southampton website.

×