Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
Health Sciences

Health Sciences is recognised for its outstanding education in palliative care

Published: 10 April 2014

Health Sciences’ Palliative Care Education Team has been awarded first prize for ‘Educator of the Year’ in the International Journal of Palliative Nursing Awards 2014 at a London ceremony.

Sponsored by Macmillan Cancer Support, these awards celebrate achievement and excellence amongst nurses and other members of multidisciplinary teams in the work of palliative care.

The Educator of the Year category is awarded to those committed and influential educators contributing to the expansion of palliative nursing knowledge that, through education, has made a difference to patients and those close to them.

Three other contestants were shortlisted for the category including Professor Alain Legault, Faculté des sciences infirmières, Université de Montréal; Janis Hostad of the Queens Centre for Cancer and Haematology, Castle Hill Hospital, Hull and East Yorkshire Hospitals Trust; and Theresa Barker, Head of Education at St Giles Hospices.

The judging panel was extremely impressed by the standard of entries, as attested to on the night by International Journal of Palliative Nursing's consultant editor, Professor Bridget Johnston, who said: "The nominees whose amazing work was being honoured included people from far and wide, reflecting the continuing growth of palliative care across the world." 

Southampton's Palliative Care Education Team were nominated for the award based on their work within the Faculty of Health Sciences, instigating palliative and end of life care modules for student nurses, communication skills and knowledge, and a Masters programme for clinical leaders, all of which use novel assessment strategies. The team's nomination also included their work with colleagues to design and lead end of life care education in clinical settings.

Programme lead for the cancer, palliative and end of life care curriculum at the University, Doctor Sue Duke, said: "We are absolutely delighted to have been chosen Educator of the Year winner in these prestigious awards, particularly as we were up against such stiff international competition.

"Our team including Debbie Fenlon, Kay Townsend, Lucy Smith, Elaine Lennan, Beth Sepion and Kathrine Hunt has worked hard to ensure our curriculum reflects contemporary clinical practice whilst providing the best in research-led education to our students.

"A recent example of this is the introduction of our new MSc in Clinical Leadership in Cancer, Palliative and End of Life Care - a joint innovation by the education and research teams which explores our research in these fields as well as investigating ways in which to enhance patient services."

The ceremony took place at the grand Honourable Artillery Company Museum in London. After a champagne reception and a formal dinner, proceedings began in earnest with an inspired speech from guest speaker Simon Chapman, Director of Public & Parliamentary Engagement for The National Council for Palliative Care & The Dying Matters Coalition.

Privacy Settings