Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton
We're launching a new website soon and would love your feedback. See the new design

Guidelines and Committee

Our guidelines and codes reflect the commitment to equality within the department and the wider university. We have core hours of between 9.30 and 4pm Monday to Friday and all regularly scheduled get-togethers (for example; committee meetings, staff meetings, colloquia, seminars) are arranged to start and finish within these hours to allow for those with flexible working needs (see core hours policy) and educational related duties can be covered for planned or unplanned staff absences (all job families).

The University offers:

The University offers high quality childcare for students, staff and local parents. Based on Highfield campus, the Early Years Centre offers stimulating childcare.

Early Years Centre

Telephone: +44 (0)23 8059 3465
Postal address:
Early Years Centre University of Southampton Building 41 University Road Highfield Southampton SO17 1BJ 


Early Years Centre


We have an active Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Team which works to :

 Contact: and

Current committee:

Chair Lynda Brown
Head of School Jon Essex
ED&I administrator Dawn Dunlop
Senior academic Gill Reid
Experimental officer Julie Herniman
HR representative Karen Payso
PDRA representative David Wheatley, Maria Concistre
PhD representative Molly Wilson
Undergraduate representative Aimee Orchel, Noor Ahmad
University ED&I and Athena Swan officer Alex Melhuish
Faculty E&D officer Elizabeth Nutburn
Marketing officer (ex-officio) Bronwyn Mann
Outreach representative Jeremy Frey
Graduate School representative Marina Carravetta
Concordat representative Russell Minns
Administrative officer Janice Sumner
WiSET representative Marianna Casavola
Technical representative Sarah Clark
LGBT representative Paul Duckmanton (ex-officio)
Wellbeing officer Sally Dady (ex-officio)

Useful Downloads

Need the software?PDF Reader
Privacy Settings