Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton

Master of Music recitals Event

Student logo
18:00 - 21:30
24 June 2013
Turner Sims University of Southampton Highfield Campus SO17 1BJ

For more information regarding this event, please telephone Louise Johnson on 023 8059 8424 or email .

Event details

Two pianists from the Music Department perform a full evening of music

Two Master of Music (MMus) students perform an evening of piano music as their final recitals for their degree. More details to follow shortly.

6pm: Ruchakorn Eurtivong

Ruchakorn Eurtivong started piano at an early age in Bangkok, Thailand. In 2002, he moved to Auckland, New Zealand for his high school studies at St.Peter’s College. While studying academic subjects, he paid special interest in music and was the member of the St.Peter’s Senior Orchestra, playing violin 2 from 2003-2006. He was under the tutelage of Jodi Zu Ying Chen for piano and violin with Michael McLellan and Vennesa Tam. He participated in Auckland Music Festival during that period of study. In 2006, he moved back to Thailand after gaining grade 7 of the Royal College of Music for both piano and violin as well as grade 6 theory (Merit) of the same board. He decided to study Engineering at Assumption University but changed to study piano performance at the same University in the following year. He participated in piano masterclasses as well as giving many recitals as the soloist and accompanist in Bangkok. He studied piano with Paulo Zereu. In 2011, he graduated with a GPA of 3.82 out of 4.00 in the Bachelor of Fine Art, concentration in piano and minor in composition. In 2012, he furthered his study at Masters level in piano performance at the University of Southampton with David Owen Norris and Veronika Illinskaya, performing his first recital in Turner Sims and also performing as a violinist with Southampton University Symphony Orchestra.


Arnold Schonberg Sechs kleine Klavierstücke Op.19

Robert Schumann Gesänge der Frühe

Johann Nepomuk Hummel Sonata No.3 in F minor, Op.20
I. Allegro moderato
II. Adagio maestoso
III. Finale: Presto

Alexander Scriabin Vers la flamme Op.72

John Field Nocturne No.4 in A major, H.36

Frederic Chopin Nocturne Op.27, No 1 and 2

Franz Liszt Ballade No.2 in B minor, S.171



8pm: Jie-Fei Jiang


Jie-Fei Jiang is a Taiwanese pianist who has completed a BA Degree in Music at Taipei National University of Arts and successfully acquired an offer for MMus Performance from University of Southampton and its 60th Anniversary Scholarship. During the ten years before coming to Southampton, Jie-Fei Jiang received instruction from Professor Alexander Sung, and learned to play a large number of piano works. He held his first piano recital in his second year of high school in his hometown, brilliantly playing such classic pieces as Beethoven's Sonata and Chopin's Scherzo. In the next year, Jie-Fei Jiang held his graduation recital in Taipei, in which the programme included such ambitious pieces as Liszt' Transcendental Etude and Schumann' Carnaval.

To pursue further improvement, Jie-Fei Jiang has started to specialise in certain genre of programme in recent years. In 2010's recital, he played Chopin's 24 Preludes and 4 Ballades; in 2011, he played four great composers' variations in one recital, namely Mozart, Beethoven, Mendelssohn, and Schumann. Just last year, he completed a recital with four sonatas, including Mozart's, Schubert's, Chopin's, and Prokofiev's. This spring, he presented Mozart's and Chopin's fantasies plus Bach's Chaconne transcribed by Busoni in his first recital in Southampton.  Following this recital to complete his MMus Performance studies, he will be returning to Taiwan to continue his musical career. 


Franz Schubert Piano Sonata in A minor, D537

Sergei Rachmaninoff Variations on a theme of Corelli

Claude Debussy Suite Bergamasque

Igor Stravinsky Three movements from 'Petrushka'

Privacy Settings