Skip to main navigationSkip to main content
The University of Southampton

Credit-bearing language modules

You can take a language at one of seven language stages, from absolute beginners to near-native speaker level in a range of languages. From stage 2 onwards, each stage is designed to help you revise and build on previous knowledge.

The stages are mapped onto a number of national qualifications as well as the Common European Framework which is recognised as a reference point around the world. You will need to do both A and B modules (that is, two modules) to complete a language stage.

You can take these modules as individual optional modules or you may be able to take a language as a Minor.

If you are not a Modern Languages student you are strongly advised to come and discuss your module choices with staff in Modern Languages although you may find the FAQs below helpful.

Note: Please consult with your home department as to any regulations concerning module options.

Find out more about each of the stages below.

Useful Downloads

Need the software?PDF Reader
Privacy Settings